Lien Davies retains 2CV title

22 Aug 17

Lien Davies emerged as the man to beat come the end of another enthralling Classic Racing Championship season this year, successfully defending the title he won in 2016.

Beginning the campaign aiming for back-to-back success in the popular one-make series, Davies prevailed from a season-long battle with team-mate Ainslie Bousfield to top the standings with Nick Crispin finishing third overall.

Kicking off the year with victory at a damp Oulton Park, Davies laid down his marker as one to watch with an impressive victory in round one before Matthew Hollis topped the podium in race two at the Cheshire circuit.

The series headed to North Yorkshire for the only triple-header of the season next, with Croft providing the perfect backdrop for Davies to further cement his status at the helm of the leaderboard.

Wins fell the way of Peter Sparrow and Ash Carter in races one and two before Davies rounded off the second weekend of the season on top of the podium again.

Consistency reigned supreme for Davies and Bousfield at Brands Hatch despite them both of them leaving the Kent without any silverware. Instead, there were maiden wins for Mick Storey and Luca Proietti.

The 28th running of the Liqui Moly 2CV 24-hour race saw a change of scenery, with Snetterton replacing Anglesey, but the same result from years gone by.

Davies secured the championship in fine style whilst Sparrow, Alec Graham and David O’Keefe joined forces to triumph at the end of a gruelling 788 laps.