BARC delivers blockbuster Brands Hatch weekend

06 Nov 17

In front of a bumper crowd this past weekend (November 4/5), six BARC championships delivered a blockbuster show at Brands Hatch.

Whilst fireworks were guaranteed to fill the sky on Sunday evening, fans were treated to some on track too with pulsating action keeping them on the edge-of-their-seats across both days at the Kent circuit.

Topping the billing around the Indy layout was the British Truck Racing Championship, which staged no less than seven races.

Sitting on the cusp of a second successive Division 1 title, Ryan Smith managed to put himself out of touch of his rivals with a superlative drive in race one, sealing the crown with a race victory.

Luke Taylor and Stuart Oliver both enjoyed topping the podium too before Smith put the cherry on top of another memorable season by winning the Grand Final race, which saw both Division 1 and Division 2 trucks combined.

As had been the case in the top tier of the BTRC, Division 2 also had a trio of winners with Luke Garrett, Paul McClumisky and 2017 champion Mika Makinen leading the way.

In the Pickup Truck Racing Championship, Scott Bourne wrote his name into the history books as he clinched the title. Outscoring his main rival Mark Willis in race one, Bourne’s rostrum finish was enough to give him the coveted crown.

The weekend arguably belonged to former BTCC champion Andrew Jordan however as he made a popular debut in the series. Starting from the back of the grid in race one, Jordan charged through the field to take second place, before then taking a lights-to-flag win in race two. Lea Wood was the race one winner.

John Mickel added to his championship trophy collection as he successfully retained his MRF Legends Cars Championship. In what was a tense season finale, Mickel held his nerve to starve off the charge of chief rival Ben Power and further cement himself as one of the best.

Needing to overturn a 240 point deficit at the start of the weekend, Power did all he could to close the gap to Mickel but sadly could only close to within 150 at the final chequered flag.

Away from the title battle, wins went the way of the returning Connor Mills, Steve Whitelegg, Will Gibson and Sebastien Kluyskens.

Daniel Fisher capped off a brilliant season in the Cannons Motorspares Tin Tops Championship with a win in race one, thus securing him the title with a race to spare. Rod Birley was victorious in the second at the wheel of his Honda Integra.

Spoils were shared in the Scrapco / Avon Tyres Intermarque Championship with Lewis Smith and Malcolm Blackman taking a win apiece. Virtue of Blackman’s triumph, he walked away with the title. Capping off the action at Brands Hatch was Quaife Modified Saloon Car Championship where Birley and Andy Banham were declared the winners.

For the full classification of results from all championships, click here.