2020 Season Review: Classic Touring Car Racing Club

The Classic Touring Car Racing Club rolled back the years in 2020 as it served up a feast of entertainment, crowning a new set of champions along the way.

Home to some of the most iconic saloon cars that have spanned countless decades, the CTCRC is renowned for producing all-out action where variety is the spice of life, and this past year proved to be no different.

Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, a revised four-event schedule was put in place for motorsport’s restart in July; with visits to Cadwell Park, Brands Hatch, Snetterton and Silverstone setting pulses racing both in the paddock and along the spectator bankings.

In the prestigious Poultec – Classic Race Engines Pre ’66 Touring Cars category, Patrick Harris once again reigned supreme as he was crowned champion for the second consecutive season.

Back behind the wheel of his trusty Morris Minor 1000, Harris pieced together a mesmerising campaign made up of consistent points finishes and podiums to narrowly edge out Nathan Williams to top spot and defend his title.

Catering for tin top saloons that were built prior to 1983, the Shell Oil Pre ’83 Touring Car Championship has remained one of the cornerstones of the CTCRC down the years and it underlined its popularity with a stellar string of races.

Having missed out on wrapping up the title last year, Mike Luck made no mistake in his BMW E21 320 this time around to run out as a convincing victor come the final chequered flag falling.

Arguably one of the jewels in the crown of the Classic Touring Car contingent is the Laser Tools Pre-93 Touring Cars Championship. Producing captivating on-track entertainment, the battle for supremacy as the sharp end of the grid was fiercely fought over.

At the wheel of his distinctly liveried BMW E36 M3, David Griffin powered his way to the crown in emphatic fashion.

Fans of more modern machinery were drawn to the Simply Serviced Pre-2003 Touring Cars Championship and it didn’t disappoint. As he had done in 2019 and despite facing stiff competition, nobody could beat AJ Owen in his Honda Civic Type R as he successfully retained his title.

There was a familiar name at the summit of the Burton Power Products Blue Oval Saloon Series standings too as Piers Grange made it a hat-trick of championship triumphs in his formidable Ford Escort Mk2.

Finally, playing host to some of the most monstrous machines within the CTCRC; the Edmundson Electrical Classic Thunder Saloons Championship produced a flame-spitting string of contests that had fans on the edge of their seats.

Carrying on his fine form from 2019, Andy Robinson and his trusty Ford Falcon proved unstoppable and it was to be that devastating combination that secured the title for the experienced racer once again.