2020 Season Review: Kumho BMW Championship

The Kumho BMW Championship was at its brilliant best this year as it served up a memorable season, with a total of three class champions being crowned come the final chequered flag being waved.

Home to some of the most iconic models of the German manufacturer in recent decades, an action-packed ten-race campaign kept fans on the edge of their seats right up until the final lap.

Visiting Brands Hatch, Snetterton, Oulton Park, Mallory Park and Thruxton, the Kumho BMW contingent boasted bumper entry lists throughout what was an unprecedented year too, underlining the continuing popularity after more than 30 years.

In Class A, James Card emerged as the driver to beat as he powered he E36 M3 to the summit of the standings. Double wins at Brands Hatch and Snetterton kickstarted his campaign off on the right foot and he only continued to improve as the season progressed.

Another double at Mallory Park, in addition to further podium finishes in the remaining rounds, proved enough to hand Card the honours ahead of Darren Morgan-Owen, Brad Sheehan and Michael Pensavalle.

Class B saw Sunny Gill prevail from an intriguing three-way battle for supremacy ahead of series stalwarts’ Trevor Ford and Russell Dack. The cornerstone of Gill’s triumph came in the opening six races as he triumphed on no less than five occasions, with Ford winning the remaining contest.

Despite a late five-race winning streak charge from Dack and his E46 M3, Gill kept the points ticking over to ensure he ended the year as champion.

Ralph Kirk rounded out the list of winners in the Kumho BMW Championship as he clinched the Class C crown. Making a handful of appearances, Kirk netted a brace of wins at Oulton Park and Mallory Park to run out as a convincing winner.