The British Automobile Racing Club produced a blockbuster two days of wheel-to-wheel entertainment at Snetterton this past weekend (September 17/18), with six different categories writing the latest chapter in their 2022 campaigns.

On what proved to be a weekend to remember on the 300 layout of the Norfolk venue, a bumper crowd flocked trackside to witness a sensational 26-race programme where the battle for supremacy had everyone on the edge of their seats. 

Whilst the on-track action took centre stage, the event also saw competitors, officials and spectators come together to pay their respects to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, who passed away on September 8. 

Two minute silences were impeccably observed across both Saturday and Sunday, with all competing cars and trucks running tributes as well as officials and marshals wearing black armbands. 

There were twists and turns in the British Truck Racing Championship as the fight to be crowned champion intensified, with five colossal contests marking the start of the title run-in.

Division 1 saw Stuart Oliver make serious inroads towards the summit of the standings as he claimed a hat-trick of wins. Bouncing back from a heavy crash at Donington Park, the Volvo VNL driver dominated races one and two before then charging to victory in race five.

Championship leader Ryan Smith endured a rollercoaster weekend as he took to the track in a brand-new truck, having only had six days to build and prepare it; victory in race four would be his reward before he non-scored in the final bout. The remaining race fell the way of Richard Collett, who scored a popular first win of the season.

In Division 2, Luke Garrett endured his own mechanical dramas but still managed to score a pair of wins whilst Brad Smith, John Bowler and Jock Borthwick also visited the top step of the podium.

Miles Rudman and Will Gibson were the big winners in the Legends Cars National Championship as they each triumphed twice. Gibson was the driver to beat on Saturday before series leader Rudman came to the fore the following day – with the second of his two wins being his 50th in the one-make series. 

Matthew Isherwood chalked up his second-ever victory in Saturday’s final whilst Sunday’s finale fell the way of multiple champion John Mickel, who used all of his experience to pip Gibson on the run to the chequered flag. 

Variety was the spice of life when it came to the Classic Touring Car Racing Club as some of the most iconic tin tops from down the years took centre stage across eight unmissable races.

James Ibbotson claimed a dominant double in the Poultec Race Engines Pre 66 Touring Cars, with Stephen Primett repeating the feat in the Shell Oils Pre 83 Touring Cars. James Everard and Robert Crisell meanwhile shared the spoils in the amalgamated Laser Tools Pre 93 and Burty Haulage Pre 03 Touring Car bouts. 

In the combined Edmundson Electrical Classic & Historic Thunder, Burton Power Blue Oval Saloons Series and Berkshire Jags Jaguar Challenge races, Jason Davies was imperious as he guided his Ford Sierra Cosworth to two impressive victories. 

Nelson King closed in on securing the Quaife MINI CHALLENGE Trophy crown as he scored his ninth win of the season. The Graves Motorsport driver edged out Nicky Taylor to take a step closer to the title; wins also went the way of Tristen Ovenden and Charlie Mann. 

Steve McDermid was perfection personified in the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship as he added two more wins to his impressive 2022 tally. The MG ZR racer led home Jack Woodcock in two action-packed races – the second of which ended prematurely – to move closer to retaining his title. 

Bringing the curtain down on the weekend were two enthralling contests from the Pickup Truck Racing Championship. On what was a pivotal outing for the series, Dale Gent charged to victory in race one before Reece Jones reigned supreme in a pulsating race two, edging out points leader George Turiccki. 

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Snetterton, CLICK HERE.