BARC honours 2019 champions at annual Championship Awards Evening

The British Automobile Racing Club rolled out the red carpet at the Chesford Grange Hotel this past Saturday (February 8th) for the annual Championship Awards Evening, honouring the champions of 2019.

In what has become one of the highlights events on the Club’s calendar every year, more than 200 guests descended on Kenilworth grounds for a momentous night of celebrations.

Swapping race suits and overalls and dinner jackets and ball gowns; drivers, marshals, officials and leading BARC figures were all in attendance.

Hosted by the superlative Alan Hyde, guests not only had the opportunity to look back on the year that was but also hear from BARC Chairman Tony Scott Andrews, BARC Group Chief Executive Ben Taylor and Motorsport UK Chief Executive Hugh Chambers.

Four-time British Touring Car Championship title-winner Colin Turkington headed the list of illustrious winners as he collected yet more silverware. The Northern Irishman’s all-conquering West Surrey Racing BMW 330i M Sport was also in attendance, taking pride of place next to the main stage.

Turkington’s machine wasn’t the only head-turner during the evening however as several other championship-winning vehicles were situated around the venue as well.

After clinching a maiden Legends Cars National Championship crown in the categories 25th Anniversary campaign, Miles Rudman showcased the car that powered him to glory. Neven Kirkpatrick did the same with his Super Mighty Minis Championship championship-winner.

Samuel Wilson’s Caterham Graduates car garnered plenty of attention throughout the night as well, whilst the Junior Saloon Car Championship once again rolled out an immaculate machine for their 2019 champion Scott McIntyre.

Whilst a majority of the awards saw drivers take centre stage, the BARC also played homage to its marshals. Virtue of completing the most volunteering days, Pam and Steve Green were awarded the coveted Sir Clive Bossom Trophy.

Elsewhere, Nick Allison picked up the BARC Marshal of the Year award for a second time. In addition, a total of £1610.00 was raised on the night for the BARC Marshals and Rescue Fund.

Alongside the customary awards, three secret accolades were also presented to unsuspecting winners.

James Hedley, Ginetta Junior victor, scooped The Peter Collins Trophy, which is awarded to the most promising newcomer competing in a BARC championship whilst Garry Whittaker claimed The Presidents Cup after producing an unbeatable season in the Kumho BMW Championship.

Legends Cars National Championship founder Phil Cooper was the final secret award recipient, handed The Gerry Marshall Trophy for epitomising the philosophy of motorsport over the past quarter of a century that Gerry once demonstrated.