BARC produces Thruxton thriller at Convoy on the Plain

The British Automobile Racing Club produced a blockbuster two days of entertainment at the now annual Convoy on the Plain at Thruxton Circuit this past weekend (July 9/10).

On what proved to be a scorcher both on and off the track at the Hampshire venue, thousands of fans flocked through the gates for what proved to be an event to remember.

Headlining the two-day schedule were five colossal contests from the British Truck Racing Championship. Returning to action after a two-month hiatus, the heavyweight behemoths whipped the crowd into a frenzy as they provided unmissable thrills and spills around the fastest circuit in the UK.

Reigning Division 1 champion Ryan Smith continued his march towards a seventh successive title by claiming two wins on Sunday before the trio of David Jenkins, Michael Oliver and Steven Powell shared the spoils on Sunday.

Division 2 saw home hero Luke Garrett strengthen his lead at the top of the standings by scoring an impressive hat-trick of wins. Adam Bint and Jock Borthwick – both winners at Pembrey – added to their win tallies with a victory apiece to round out proceedings.

Fans of touring cars were well-catered for across both days as the Classic Touring Car Racing Club took centre stage for no less than eight races to showcase some of the most iconic tin tops from down the years.

Stephen Primmet and Stephen Cripps scored a win apiece in the combined Pre ’66 and Pre ’83 races whilst Jason Davies piloted his Ford Sierra Cosworth to a brace of victories in the amalgamated Classic & Historic Thunder Saloons and Blue Oval Saloons Series bouts.

Anthony Reid and Richard Wheeler took those in attendance on a trip down memory lane as they guided their pair of 1998 Nissan Primera’s to the top step of the podium in the Pre ’93, Pre ’03 and Super Tourer races. Tom Robinson rounded out the CTCRC winners, triumphing twice in Jaguar Challenge. 

The Pickup Truck Racing Championship wrote the latest chapter of its 2022 campaign with two pulsating races. Competing at Thruxton for the first time in three years, the popular series brought a flavour of America to Andover with its bumper grid of two-litre multi-valve twin-cam machines.

Mark Willis came from the third row of the grid to claim victory in race one before Reece Jones prevented him from completing the double, winning race two by less than a second at the chequered flag.

Wayne Rockett was in top form in the Carbon8 Hyundai Coupe Cup with Toyo Tires to take two wins, whilst Steve McDermid did exactly the same in the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship to continue his winning streak.

The Sports 2000 Championship made a guest appearance on the billing and it didn’t disappoint as a 32-car grid served up two enthralling races. Michael Gibbins was the driver to beat in the opening bout before Joshua Law triumphed in race two. 

Closing out the weekend’s on-track entertainment was a thrilling 40-minute race from the CALM All Porsche Trophy, which was won by Sam Callahan after pole-sitter James Harvey failed to take the start following a crash in qualifying.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Thruxton, CLICK HERE.