BTCC announces 32-car entry for 2022 season

The Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship has announced a 32-car entry for the 2022 season, which starts the mark of the hybrid era.

Following the entry approval deadline of December 1st 2021, the maximum number of TOCA BTCC Licences (TBLs) have been submitted by competing teams.

Each team must hold a TBL for each car entered in the UK’s premier motorsport series, with 29 being held between teams and a further three being loaned out by series organisers TOCA.

Notable allocations for next years grid include expanded entries for BTC Racing, Speedworks Motorsport and Team Dynamics. Furthermore, Aiden Moffat Racing and Excelr8 Motorsport now additional licences as well.

Alan Gow, BTCC Chief Executive, said: “At our annual teams meeting last month the majority of team owners voted for TOCA to provide the loan of our spare TBLs, to help satisfy requirements.

“Therefore, I’ve released our three TBLs on a single-season-only loan basis; one each to BTC Racing, Team Dynamics and Speedworks Motorsport. This means the grid will now increase to its absolute maximum of 32 cars for next season.

“The demand for the BTCC has never been greater. Clearly, this also means I’ve failed to achieve my long-stated aim of reducing the grid size. Whilst that remains the goal going forward, admittedly it’s a nice problem to have…”


Excelr8 Motorsport – 4

Team Dynamics – 3*

Aiden Moffat Racing – 2

Motorbase Performance – 4

Team HARD – 3

Speedworks Motorsport – 3*

West Surrey Racing – 3

Ciceley Motorsport – 2

Power Maxed Racing – 2

BTC Racing – 4*

Boardley Motorsport – 2

Teams will announce full details regarding their respective entries (drivers, team names and sponsors) over the coming weeks and months, prior to the release of the finalised entry list for the forthcoming season in April.

The 2022 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship blasts into life at Donington Park on April 23/24.