Champions celebrated as BARC Championship Awards goes virtual

The British Automobile Racing Club rolled out the virtual red carpet this past Saturday (February 6th) as the champions of 2020 were honoured in a unique Awards Presentation on social media.

Whilst this time of year is normally awash with Black Tie events, the current government guidelines surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic meant that this year’s BARC Championship Awards Lunch was cancelled.

Originally scheduled to take place at the Thruxton Centre as a low-key replacement for what is traditionally one of the biggest prize-giving evenings of the year, the annual ceremony took on a very different look for 2021 online.

Celebrating the achievements of drivers, marshals and officials via Facebook and Twitter, each champion was honoured with their own individual post, recognising the triumphs they had during the last year.

In addition, the Club also announced the winners of its four secret awards; The Peter Collins Trophy, The Densely Trophy, The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy and the BARC Marshal of the Year.

Tom Lebbon capped off a memorable first season in the Michelin Ginetta Junior Championship by being the worthy recipient of the coveted Peter Collins Trophy.

Awarded to the most promising newcomer competing in a BARC championship, Lebbon made history in the one-make TOCA support series by becoming the first Scholarship winner to take the overall title in their maiden campaign, chalking up five victories along the way.

Having not been presented last year, The Densely Trophy made a welcome return and it saw Esmee Hawkey’s name be the latest to be engraved onto its famous silverware. Bestowed upon the most successful female driver competing in a BARC championship, Hawkey proved to be a deserving winner.

Competing in the Porsche Carrera Cup GB, the Team Parker Racing driver produced a near-perfect season-long performance to clinch the Pro-Am title and score an overall podium finish as well.

For the second year in succession, The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy was shared between two winners. Awarded to the person that completes the most volunteering days over the course of the season, 2020 saw couple Alan Stalker and Nikki Hazelwood tally the most to share the prize.

They weren’t the only marshals that have been commended for their dedication and pivotal work during last season as Mark Trimby was announced as BARC Marshal of the Year.

Boasting a rich history, Mark was one of the standout candidates for the award after he bravely helped a driver escape their car as a fire broke out at Thruxton in September.

Look back over our Awards thread on our Twitter page HERE.

To view the full list of British Automobile Racing Club award winners, CLICK HERE.