Championship trio take centre stage to star at Mallory Park

The British Automobile Racing Club produced a memorable day’s racing at Mallory Park this past Sunday (August 1) as a trio of championships continued their campaigns.

Spoils were shared in the Pickup Truck Racing Championship as George Turiccki and Allen Cooper claimed a win apiece on the one-mile Oval circuit.

Returning to scene of their 2021 curtain-raiser, a 14-truck grid served up plenty of wheel-to-wheel entertainment. Turiccki proved to be in a league of his own in race as he triumphed by more than three seconds before then going on to be narrowly pipped by Cooper in the second bout.

The penultimate event of the 2CV Championship saw Pete Sparrow edge ever-closer to another title. Having been the benchmark from the get-go, the multiple champion showed his class to triumph in both races.

Despite having won every race so far this season, the experienced racer didn’t have things all his own way as he was made to work for his wins by the likes of Luca Proietti and Kris Tovey.

Alex Cursley continued his sensational run of form in the Carbon8 Coupe Cup with Toyo Tires as he scored a brace of wins. Entering the event as one of the pre-race favourites, the former series champion showed his class as he produced a masterful performance.

Powering his way to pole position by more than half a second, Cursley then converted his front row start into a pair of commanding lights-to-flag drives.

Wayne Rockett, Alistair Dendy and Neale Hurren emerged as the nearest challengers to Cursley over the course of the day as they each stood on the podium, Rockett doing so twice.

Rounding out the day’s track action were a pair of races from the Avon Tyres Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship where James Hadfield and Jack Wolfenden reigned supreme to take a win apiece.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Mallory Park, CLICK HERE.

The British Automobile Racing Club is scheduled to make one final visit to Mallory Park in 2021 on October 17, with the Classic Touring Car Racing Club set to take centre stage.