Whilst champions of 2021 took centre stage during the BARC Awards Evening this past Saturday (February 26), a handful of secret awards were presented to unsuspecting winners at the end of the night.

The first award to be handed out was one that was met with rapturous applause in the room as Robert Foote – who tragically lost his life last July whilst on post at Brands Hatch – was announced as the BARC Marshal of the Year.

After powering his way to the Junior Saloon Car Championship title last year Charlie Hand was a worthy winner of The Peter Collins Trophy, which is awarded to the most promising newcomer competing in a BARC championship.

Embarking on what was his third campaign in the one-make series, the Westbourne Motorsport driver proved to be in a league of his own as he scored 14 wins on his way to clinching title glory.   

Commenting on the award, Hand said: “I’m over the moon to have won The Peter Collins Trophy – to say it was unexpected is an understatement as I didn’t see it coming at all.

“To share the stage with the other champions and some amazing people was fantastic and I have to say a personal thank you to the whole team and my family as without them this wouldn’t have been possible.

“That trophy is going to take pride of place at home and be on show for everyone to see as soon as they walk in the door I think and it’s winning it is the perfect way to tee up the coming season.”

The commanding, season-long performance of Miles Rudman in the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres didn’t go unnoticed as he scooped The President’s Cup.

Awarded to the most successful driver competing under international level within the BARC, the now two-time champion chalked up a staggering 17 wins on his way to regaining his crown to make him a fitting winner of the accolade. 

“I’m absolutely shocked and lost for words,” Rudman said. “I can’t believe I have won this award, it really is a true honour. It’s fair to say that I had a good season; I was on top form all the time and hungry to regain the championship.

“We’re going to be back to defend the title this year and the aim is to hopefully replicate what we did in 2021 and be standing where we are now with some more silverware this time next year.”

Stuart Caie’s contribution to the continued success and growth of the Classic Touring Car Racing Club made him a worthy recipient of the The Gerry Marshall Trophy, having epitomised the philosophy for motorsport that Gerry once did.

Elsewhere, Chris Davenport picked up The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy after completing the most volunteering days over the course of the season whilst Alex Tuson was the inaugural winner of the Trainee Marshal of the Year in memory of Peter Harris award.