Fans soak up retro-themed thrills at Thruxton Historic

Thruxton Circuit produced an action-packed two days of nostalgia this past weekend (June 12/13) courtesy of the ‘Thruxton Historic’, which saw a mouth-watering array of sensational sportscars, flame-spitting saloons and evocative racing cars take centre stage.

Basked in glorious sunshine, the Hampshire venue opened its doors for the first time this year to welcome a limited number of spectators, all of which soaked up the variety of attractions both on and off the track.

Retro-themed thrills were the order of both days on-track, with a number of pulsating contests by the Motor Racing Legends and HRDC being produced for those in attendance.

In the RAC Woodcote Trophy & Stirling Moss Trophy for Pre ’61 Sportcars, the Lister Knobbly duo of Rob Smith and Chris Ward showcased their class by taking victory in emphatic fashion, doing so by more than 30 seconds.

James Cottingham and Harvey Stanley were the ones to beat in the Pre ’63 GT encounter, narrowly pipping Jack Minshaw at the end of an hours’ racing in their Jaguar E-Type.

There was high drama in the HRDC Liqui Moly Jack Sears Trophy as Tiff Needell looked to have victory in the bag before a mechanical issue befell him at the final corner on the last lap, costing him victory.

Roy Alderslade would benefit in his Lotus Ford Cortina to claim outright spoils whilst the duo of Needell and John Spiers could only hobble their Cortina across the line to claim second place.

James Colburn was the cream of the crop in the HRDC ‘Classic Alfa Challenge’ whilst Spiers piloted his Lister Knobbly to the top step of the podium in the HRDC ‘Dunlop Allstars’ for Pre-66 Sports, GT and Touring Cars encounter.

Spiers then partnered Needell again to reign supreme in the MRL Jaguar Classic Challenge, sharing driving duties in the sensational Jaguar E-Type Lightweight.

In the Historic Touring Car Challenge, just five seconds separated the top two at the end of a blockbuster opening 40-minute contest. At wheel of their Ford GA Capri, Adrian Willmott and Mark Farmer were the victors ahead of Andy Middlehurst and Jonathan Bailey.

Ric Wood would demonstrate his abilities in his Nissan Skyline GTR in race two as he got the better of Farmer and Willmott to score victory.

The Pre-War Sports Cars made their presence known too as the pairing of Gareth Burnett and Michael Birch navigated their Talbot AV105 Brooklands to the chequered flag first.

Capping off the track action were two races for the coveted Jochen Rindt Trophy. Celebrating the best single-seater race cars from the 60s, 70s & 80s, outright honours on the Saturday went the way of Matthew Wrigley in his March 79B.

Peter Williams came to the fore in race two to lift the famous trophy. At the wheel of the mighty Ralt RT1, Williams pipped Greg Roberston to victory and due to Wrigley being one of many unfortunate retirements, he wrapped up the Jochen Rindt Trophy as well.

Away from the racing there was plenty to see and do around the venue with parades, car clubs adorning spectators bankings and a trade village. One of the star attractions was situated on the Skid Pan in the shape of the Land Rover Legends.

To view the full classification of results from the Thruxton Historic, CLICK HERE.