Goodwood ends spectacular year with sensational 78th Members’ Meeting

Goodwood Motor Circuit echoed to the screams of nostalgic horsepower and tyre screeching this past weekend (October 16/17) as the 78th Members’ Meeting took centre stage to close out another year of motorsport at the Sussex venue.

Taking place 18 months later than originally planned after being postponed last year, the two-day spectacle proved to be well worth the wait.

Open to members and fellows of the Goodwood Road Racing Club, the event is staged to recapture the intimacy and camaraderie of the members-only race weekends held in Goodwood’s heyday.

British Touring Car Championship race-winner Jake Hill served up a sensational performance in the Gerry Marshall Trophy final as he piloted a 1978 Ford Capri III to victory ahead of Jack Tetley and Fred Shepherd. 

Nigel Greensall was victorious in the Moss Trophy whilst there was little over half a second separating the top two in the Arundell Cup, with Andrew Hibberd coming out on top in his Lotus-Ford 22.

The Don Parker Trophy – which is open to 500cc Formula 3 machines – saw George Shackleton comfortably reign supreme. Elsewhere the Earl Howe Trophy saw an ultra close finish as Lukas Halusa narrowly pipped Gary Pearson to victory by just three tenths of a second.

Fans were collectively on the edge of their seats during the Goodwood Super Sprint Rally which culminated in Martin Overington leading the way in Class A and Gary Le Coadou doing the same in Class B.

Ford GT40’s ruled the roost in the Gurney Cup, which was open to World Championship sports prototypes between the years of 1960 and 1966, with the team of Cottingham and Smith triumphing.

Nigal Greensall impressed in the Moss Trophy to score victory and there was plenty to be impressed about in the Pierpoint Cup as monstrous V8 saloons went wheel-to-wheel. The duo of Jordan and Willmott piloted their Studebaker Lark Daytona to a comfortable victory.

Other winners across the weekend included Chris Ward in the Salvadori Cup, Hughie Walker in the S.F Edge Trophy and Oliver Bryant in the Ronnie Hoare Trophy. 

Capping off the weekend’s track action was a superb race in the Hailwood Trophy, which catered for 250cc & 350cc GP Motorcycles up to 1983 & early 1970s F750. After a sensational back and forth battle at the front, James Hillier came out on top to win.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at the 78th Members’ Meeting, CLICK HERE.