North West Centre delivers memorable Oulton Park race day

The British Automobile Racing Club’s North West Centre staged an unmissable day of track action at Oulton Park this past Saturday (June 12) as a trio of championships continued their 2021 campaigns.

Basked in glorious sunshine, the one-day meeting saw the Britcar Endurance Championship, Mighty Minis Championship and CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship take on a starring role around the picturesque Cheshire venue in front of an enthusiastic crowd.

Edge-of-the-seat entertainment was served up by the Britcar Endurance Championship, who held the latest two rounds of what is shaping up to be an ultra-competitive Endurance season.

Coming off the back of a rapid qualifying session which saw the top of the timesheets dominated by the Praga Class, each one-hour race had its fair share of drama and safety car periods however that didn’t stop the team of Praga Race Academy from dominating proceedings.

The duo of Angus Fender and Jay Morton had missed out on pole position for both bouts but as soon as the lights went out, they marched their way to the front to comfortably win both races.

Paul Rose reigned supreme in the CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship, claiming the spoils in what was the only race for North West Centre’s flagship category. Boasting a bumper 34-car grid, the multi-class series put on a show for those in attendance, with Rose leading the way.

Starting third, the Sakar RAPX S1-500 driver found his way to the front early on and from there on he didn’t look back as he romped to victory by more than ten seconds ahead of Jon Woolfitt and Danny Bird.

In addition to his race win, the former CNC Heads champion also was awarded the Dave Simpson Trophy – which is bestowed upon the class winner who wins their class by the greatest speed differential.

Bumper-to-bumper entertainment was the order of the day in the Mighty Minis Championship, which served up a pair of mesmerising races. David Kirkpatrick triumphed in what proved to be a breathless opening bout, beating defending champion Ian Slark to victory by little over a tenth of a second.

Slark was not to be denied in the second Mini race however as he charged from fifth to claim victory ahead of Greg Jenkins and Kirkpatrick, further strengthening his position at the summit of the Super Mighty Minis standings.

Alongside the trio of BARC championships was a guest appearance from the Radical Summer Cup, which staged a two pulsating encounters. Elliott Goodman won a frenetic opening contest which ended early after a number of incidents in the latter stages.

Having seen victory slip away in race one after a mechanical issue dropped him out of the lead, Michael Clark emerged as the driver to beat in race two, taking the chequered a little under five seconds ahead of Goodman.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions, CLICK HERE.

If you missed any of the day’s action then watch all of it back on our YouTube channel, HERE.