More titles were decided this past weekend (October 14/15) as the British Automobile Racing Club took centre stage at Donington Park, with both the British Endurance Championship and Classic Touring Car Racing Club delivering full-throttle entertainment right to the very end.

On what proved to be a thrilling showdown on the world-famous Grand Prix layout of the Leicestershire venue, champions were crowned across a variety of categories as the curtain fell on the 2023 season for the majority that were in attendance.

The British Endurance Championship’s sophomore season culminated with the Team HARD. pairing of Brad Thurston and Daryl Deleon holding their nerve to seal title glory in their Porsche 991 Cup.

Heading into the season finale as one of five teams that could clinch the coveted crown, Thurston and Deleon – who has this year also cut his teeth in the British Touring Car Championship – charged to victory in Class C, which was in-turn enough for them to prevail in the overall battle. 

Boasting a bumper grid of monstrous machines for its two-hour finale, qualifying saw two new faces blast their way to pole position as the Team BRIT Invitational entry of Paul Fullick and James Whitley reigned supreme. 

Unfortunately, the McLaren 570S GT4 outfit couldn’t capitalise on their front row start as a safety car period would interfere with their planned strategy. Taking the bull by the horns – as they have done on many occasions this year – instead was the PB Racing team of Peter Erceg and Marcus Clutton.

At the wheel of their Audi GT3, Erceg and Clutton produced a superlative performance however they were kept honest all the way to the chequered flag as the Breakell Racing entry of Ameerh Naran and outgoing champion Tom Jackson claimed second in their McLaren GT3.

The Track Focused KTM GT4 of Mike McCollum and Sean Cooper completed the podium in third, with Team BRIT fourth and the Venture Innovations team of Chris Jones and Matt George completing the top five. Jones and George also secured overall runners-up laurels. 

Blockbuster tin top wheel-to-wheel moments were in full force when it came to the Classic Touring Car Racing Club, which served up no less than ten races over the course of the weekend.

The Poultec Pre-66 Touring Cars, which is home to some of the most iconic saloons, saw James Everard and Barry Sime walk away with a share of the spoils whilst Howard Spooner and Stephen Primett scored a win apiece in the Orange Aero Pre-83 Touring Cars. 

More than 30 cars lined up for the amalgamated Laser Tools Pre-93 Touring Cars, Burty Haulage Pre-03 Touring Cars and Burton Power Blue Oval Saloon Series contests; and they proved to be a sight to behold as Piers Grange romped to a brace of wins. 

Flame-spitting Holden’s rightfully grabbed the headlines in the Edmundson Electrical Classic Thunder as Andy Wilson and Abbie Eaton put on a show for the appreciative crowd. The pair slugged it out for both race wins, with Wilson just edging the former W Series racer on both occasions.

Rounding out the CTCRC entertainment were two races from the Berkshire Jag Components Jaguar Challenge, both of which were won by Guy Connew in his Jaguar XJS.

The ROWE Britcar Trophy Championship crowned new champions in the shape of Rhys Lloyd and Jack Meakin, who delivered an exemplary performance in their Dragon Sport Renault Clio.

Setting the pace in the Clio Class for much of the campaign, Lloyd and Meakin produced a faultless performance as they charged to a pay of category wins to clinch the overall title.

Whilst they reigned supreme in the championship fight, Datum Motorsport’s Marco Anastasi claimed overall victory in race one before the Intersport duo of Bryan Bransom and Jas Sapra triumphed in race two in their BMW M3 E46.

The destiny of the Junior Saloon Car Championship is poised to go down to the wire at Brands Hatch next month after the ultra-competitive series dished up two frenetic races under the flightpath of East Midlands airport.

Daire Flock and Cameron Pratt-Thompson will duke it out for the prestigious crown however neither of them could do anything to stop Oskar Dix who took a clean sweep of results; pole position and two race wins. 

Pacing the opposition in qualifying, the Westbourne Motorsport driver pipped Flock to victory in race one by just 0.030 seconds before then leading home Jonathan Moore by a little over six tenths in race two.

Concluding the weekend’s track action, and their first year with the BARC, were a trio of races from the MINI CHALLENGE Clubsport with Airtec Motorsport. 

Staging two sprint races and a 45-minute endurance encounter, the single-manufacturer series culminated with a scintillating showing from Stephen Berry, who charged to a hat-trick of race wins. 

To view the full classification of results from Donington Park, CLICK HERE. 

You can also watch all the best bits from Saturday and Sunday at Donington Park via BARC TV on YouTube HERE.