2020 Season Review: Cayman Islands Porsche Sprint Challenge GB

The Cayman Islands Porsche Sprint Challenge GB made an immediate impact during its eagerly-anticipated debut in 2020, crowning James Dorlin as its inaugural champion and laying down the building blocks for years to come.

Introduced as the latest championship to be added to the Porsche Motorsport GB pyramid, sitting between the Porsche Classic Boxster Cup and Porsche Carrera Cup GB, the one-make series proved to be a smash-hit from the get-go.

Accommodating both amateur and professional drivers alike, the championship operated a two-category structure in the shape of Pro and Am; with the 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport series starring on both the British Touring Car Championship and British GT Championship support packages.

No stranger to the British Automobile Racing Club after winning titles in both the Junior Saloon Car Championship and Michelin Clio Cup Series, In2 Racing’s Dorlin entered the season as one of the favourites to challenge for the crown and the 21-year-old wasted no time in establishing himself as the driver to beat.

Kicking the season off at Snetterton, Dorlin produced a masterful performance to win both races and assume top spot in the overall standings. The former Renault UK Clio Cup vice-champion would then triumph at Donington Park as well after seeing Tom Jackson open his account for the year.

Jackson would prove to be Dorlin’s closest challenger over the course of the campaign and the Rob Boston Racing ace racked up further wins at Brands Hatch and Donington Park once again to close the gap to Dorlin.

As the championship reached the business end of the season, a heavy crash at Croft for Jackson all but ended his title aspirations as Dorlin showed his class, winning three of the final four contests to write his name into the history books as the first-ever Cayman Islands Porsche Sprint Challenge GB champion.

In the Amateur category, Ambrogio Perfetti charged to six wins and two second place finishes to secure the title ahead of Ian Humphris.