2020 Season Review: Dunlop Endurance Championship

New champions came to the fore in the Dunlop Endurance Championship this year following what was a hard-fought shortened campaign.

Like every other motorsport category in the UK, Britcar found themselves affected by the coronavirus pandemic and were forced to reschedule their original calendar into a more compact XX-round season.

Renowned for being at the forefront of promoting affordable and realistic multi-class endurance racing in the UK, the Dunlop Endurance Championship saw that the appetite to go racing was stronger than ever as it boasted bumper grids throughout the year.

The Endurance category provided a fierce battle towards the summit of the standings but it was to be the VR Motorsport duo of Danny Harrison and Jem Hepworth that proved too much for the opposition, running out as eventual winners.

At the wheel of the potent Praga R1T, the pair were a constant feature towards the front of the field as they paired teamwork and consistency with raw speed and

Other notable mentions from the Endurance category include the SB Engineering Ferrari trio of Paul Bailey, Ross Wylie & Andy Schulz and VR Motorsport’s other Praga pairing of Jack Fabby and Garry Townsend.

Open to cars whose performance does not match up against GT4 or TCR machinery, the new-for-2020 Trophy class welcomed a host of new and old faces for a feast of on-track entertainment.

When the dust had finally settled on the season, JC Racing’s Oliver Smith narrowly edged out Johnathan Barrett to become the inaugural champion after producing a stellar string of performances in his BMW M3 E36.

With drivers and teams already firming up plans for the forthcoming 2021 campaign, Britcar looks set for another blockbuster year next season.