2CV 24-hour race headlines bumper BARC Snetterton weekend

The 2CV Parts.com Classic Racing Championship will bring the curtain down on its 2018 season at Snetterton this weekend (August 18/19) as it headlines a bumper British Automobile Racing Club event with the now traditional Liqui Moly 24-hour race.

In what is the third visit to the Norfolk venue in four weeks, the BARC is set for a busy weekend with a total of four categories in action around the 2.99 mile layout.

Topping the bill is the 2CV Parts.com Classic Racing Championship which will sign off another year of competition with 33 cars battling it out. Having staged events at Cadwell Park, Brands Hatch, Oulton Park and Donington Park, the destiny of the title will decided in what will likely be dramatic fashion – as is usually the case with the series.

Notable names to look out for during the race include points leader Pete Sparrow, Matthew Hollis, Nick Crispin, Tom Perry and double champion Lien Davies; all of whom have shown their class at some stage during the season.

Whilst the 2CV Parts.com Classic Racing Championship will likely take on a starring role, a host of other BARC categories will also write the latest chapter in their campaigns.

Driving the next generation of talent, the Junior Saloon Car Championship is back in action after its mid-season break and it is set to be all to play for.

Leading the way entering rounds nine and ten is Lewis Saunders, who holds a 16-point advantage. Up until last time out at Rockingham Saunders had been the epitome of consistency, but a superlative drive in round eight gave him a breakthrough victory and further strengthened his position at the summit.

Entering this weekend with momentum on his side, Saunders will be one to watch however he has a host of contenders all hot on his heels.

Heading up the chasing pack is Jemma Moore, another driver that has shown that consistency is key in the title race. Steven Chandler, Scott McIntyre and multiple race-winner Joel Wren round out the top five and all of them are not to be discounted.

If you are looking for a pulsating series that is set to take you on a spirited trip down memory lane at Snetterton then look no further than the Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford 1600 Championship.

Winding back the clock to one of the marque eras of single seater racing, the Classic Formula Ford category is arguably as good now as it was back then.

Split into two classes, Class A is open to those competing in cars built between 1st January 1974 and 31st December 1981 whilst Class B is for those competing cars built before 1st January 1974.

Both title battles are building towards their crescendo and there are a host of names to keep a watchful eye over as they tackle the demands of Snetterton.

Ben Tinkler and Benn Tilley shared the spoils at Mallory Park a couple of weeks ago and will have momentum on their side whilst the likes of Jordan Harrison, Mark Yates, Stuart Kestenbaum, Mark Armstrong and Kevin Mansell, amongst a host of others, will also be ones to watch.

In what is its inaugural season, the BARC Saloon Series has continued to go from strength-to-strength as each round has passed, with grids growing in size and that is no different at Snetterton.

Open to all manner of tin top machines, the series has become a focal point for competitors to hone their craft and go racing at an affordable price, with the likes of Ford Fiesta’s, Citroen Saxo’s and more competing.

Sharing the grid with the BARC Saloon Series on countless occasions this year has the been the Dream Automotive Honda VTEC Challenge. Home to a variety of models from the Japanese manufacturer, this series is heaven for those that are fans of all things Honda.

Ben Rushworth, James Tracey and Chris Sparks have been some of the winners from this season already and all three, along with a host of others, will be keen to make their mark here at Snetterton.