The British Automobile Racing Club’s annual Awards Evening delivered a star-studded night of celebrations on Saturday 4th February, as some of the biggest names in British motorsport came together to look back on what proved to be a successful 2022 season.

Staged at the Old Thorns Hotel in Hampshire for a second successive year, the glittering evening saw more than 250 guests attend to celebrate the achievements of last year’s champions, officials and volunteers.

Hosted by the superlative Alan Hyde, guests not only had the opportunity to look back on the year that was but they also heard from BARC Chairman Tony Scott Andrews, BARC Chief Executive Ben Taylor and Motorsport UK Chief Executive Hugh Chambers. 

Alongside the customary championship awards – which were handed out to the likes of Tom Ingram, Alex Dunne, Wayne Marrs, Luke Garrett and many more – a number of secret accolades were also presented to some unsuspecting winners on the night as well. 

Ian Seager scooped The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy for conducting the most volunteering days in 2022 whilst Joshua Mendelsohn was announced as the BARC Marshal of the Year.

The John Martin-Lewis Trophy – which hasn’t been awarded in more than a decade – made a welcome return to the stage and was bestowed to the Club’s North West Rescue Unit for their work both on and off the track. Another returning award was The Densley Trophy, which went the way of Claire Hedley after she enjoyed a stellar 2022 leading Britcar and the British Endurance Championship. 

Maximus Hall was a deserving winner of The Peter Collins Trophy, which is awarded to the most promising newcomer competing in a BARC championship, with Jon Winter picking up the coveted Gerry Marshall Trophy.

Double Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship title winner Steve McDermid was the final secret award recipient as he was handed The President’s Cup after a flawless season which included 13 victories.

Elsewhere, more than £1600 was raised during the annual raffle for the BARC Marshal and Rescue Fund whilst further funds were added to the pot by way of an auction – which included prizes such as VIP days to the Goodwood Festival of Speed and BTCC at Thruxton.

Ben Taylor, BARC Chief Executive, said: “It’s been a fantastic evening! Although this event is to honour our champions, it’s also for our members and the people that play their part in making the BARC what it is.

“Last season was a really successful one for the Club, right the way through; we had a full calendar of events, full grids and packed bankings of spectators. There were many things we developed too and built upon – one of which was the hugely successful live stream platform.

“We’re now in a really good place ahead of the 2023 season too. We’re going to run more race meetings than we did last year and that is because the demand is there; plus we have a number of new arrivals too which is exciting.”

To view the full photo gallery from the BARC Awards Evening, CLICK HERE.

Full list of award winners:

The John Martin-Lewis Trophy: BARC NW Rescue

The Densley Trophy: Claire Hedley

The Peter Collins Trophy: Maximus Hall

The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy: Ian Seager

BARC Marshal of the Year: Joshua Mendelsohn

The Gerry Marshall Trophy: Jon Winter

The President’s Cup: Steve McDermid

2022 Kumho BMW Champion: James Card

2022 Champion: David O’Keeffe

2022 Caterham Graduates Sigmax Champion: Max Haynes

2022 Classic Touring Car Racing Club Pre ’66 Champion: Luc Wilson

2022 Classic Touring Car Racing Club Pre ’83 Champion: Stephen Primett

2022 Classic Touring Car Racing Club Pre ’93 Champion: Andy Cripps

2022 Classic Touring Car Racing Club Pre ’03 Champion: Cavan Grainger

2022 Classic Touring Car Racing Club Jaguar Challenge Champion: Tom Robinson

2022 Michelin Ginetta Junior Champion: Josh Rowledge 

2022 Protyre Motorsport Ginetta GT5 Challenge Champion: Mikey Doble

2022 Ginetta GT Academy Champion: Marc Warren

2022 Junior Saloon Car Champion: Maximus Hall

2022 Connaught Competition Engines BARC Speed Champion: Damien Bradley

2022 Lancaster Insurance MGOC Class A Champion: David Amphlett

2022 Lancaster Insurance MGOC Class B Champion: Anthony Bate

2022 Lancaster Insurance MGOC Class Z Champion: Steve McDermid

2022 Legends Cars National Champion: Miles Rudman 

2022 Carbon8 Hyundai Coupe Cup Winner: Wayne Rockett

2022 Britcar Trophy Champions: Chris Overend & James Whitley

2022 Porsche Visit Cayman Islands Sprint Challenge GB Champion: Harry Foster

2022 Porsche Carrera Cup GB Champion: Kiern Jewiss

2022 Quaife MINI CHALLENGE Trophy Champion: Nelson King

2022 Quaife MINI CHALLENGE JCW Champion: Sam Weller

2022 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Champion: Tom Ingram

2022 British Endurance Champions: Wayne Marrs & Tom Jackson

2022 British Truck Racing Division 1 Champion: Ryan Smith

2022 British Truck Racing Division 2 Champion: Luke Garrett

2022 ROKiT British F4 Champion: Alex Dunne