BARC championships deliver show-stopping weekend at Brands Hatch

The British Automobile Racing Club took centre stage at Brands Hatch this past weekend (November 2/3) as five championships battled contrasting conditions to bring the curtain down on their 2019 campaigns.

As champions were crowned in front of a bumper crowd around the famous Kent venue, fireworks flew both on and off the track across a sensational two days of scintillating entertainment.

One of the headline acts of the weekend proved to the MV Commercial BTRA Championship, which served up no less than eight spellbinding encounters.

In Division 1, Ryan Smith secured a fourth successive title as he converted his healthy points advantage over David Jenkins into an unassailable lead.

Storming to pole position, the MAN driver was victorious in race one before then going on to finish in fourth in race two – which was enough to wrap up the title. Jamie Anderson meanwhile proved to be unstoppable on Sunday as he scorched his way to a hat-trick of race wins.

Steven Powell made home advantage count in Division 2 as he powered his way to a hat-trick of race wins. Cementing his status as vice-champion, Powell was in a league of his own for a majority of the weekend whilst John Bowler rounded off the year on the top step of the podium.

Producing plenty of thrills and spills, the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres brought its 25th Anniversary campaign to a close in sensational style – with Miles Rudman being crowned champion for the first-ever time.

Entering the finale holding a significant points lead, Rudman made no mistake to get the job done; winning Saturday and Sunday’s finals in show-stopping fashion. Connor Mills, Paul Simmons, Jack Parker and John Mickel also tasted victory across both days too.

Scott McIntyre was another driver to savour the spoils of victory over the course of the weekend as he captured the Junior Saloon Car Championship title.

With double points on offer, a second place finish behind outgoing champion Lewis Saunders in the opening encounter was enough for the 2018 Scholarship victor to secure the championship. Saunders would reign supreme in the final race of the season too.

The Pickup Truck Racing Championship crowned a brand-new champion in the shape of George Turiccki at Brands Hatch, with three blockbuster encounters captivating those in attendance.

Michael Smith, the returning Lea Wood and Declan Jones shared the spoils but nobody could stop Turiccki from capturing his first championship in the series.

Despite 2019 champion Malcolm Blackman electing to miss the season finale, the Super Silhouette Championship was in fine form too during the weekend with Danny Hunn and Lewis Smith signing off with a win apiece.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Brands Hatch from this past weekend, click here.