BARC championships serve up scintillating Silverstone showing

Five championships from the British Automobile Racing Club tackled the iconic sweeping curves of Silverstone this past weekend (June 1/2) as each campaign continued on their 2019 journeys.

Topping the bill were no less than eight races from the Classic Touring Car Racing Club, which showcased that variety really is the spice of life from a wide range of eras.

Alan Greenhalgh was perfection personified in the Pre 66’ Touring Cars races as he scored a brace of wins in his Ford Falcon. Elsewhere, Stephen Primett and Mike Luck shared the spoils in the Pre 83’ Group 1 Touring Cars.

In the amalgamated Pre 93’, Pre 03’ and Pre 05’ races, David Griffin and AJ Owen scored victories whilst Andrew Wilson and Lucky Khera did the same in the combined Thunder Saloons & Blue Oval Saloons races.

The Junior Saloon Car Championship saw reigning champion Lewis Saunders get himself back into the win bracket as he made a triumphant return to the top step of the podium. Saunders however could do nothing about his main title protagonist and series leader Scott McIntyre from firing back in race two as he picked up the win.

Garrie Whittaker continued his superlative start to the Kumho BMW Championship by enjoying yet more success, scoring a pair of wins. Having won every race heading into the weekend, the E36 M3 driver extended his winning streak in sensational style.

Whittaker beat Darren Fielding and Jasver Sapra in the opener before then getting the better of Khera and Fielding in race two. 

Fans enjoyed a slipstreaming extravaganza over the course of the weekend thanks to the Mighty Minis Championship. Marking the second event on the calendar for the iconic machines, Silverstone’s National layout proved to be the perfect backdrop for two frenetic races.

Alex Comis was the man to beat in the opening encounter as he led narrowly edged out Greg Jenkins and Neven Kirkpatrick. Jenkins would bounce back in race two as he edged out Kirkpatrick and Comis, the trio covered by less than half a second at the chequered flag.

Rounding out the weekend’s action at the Northamptonshire venue were the first-ever races from the SmarTrack Series Elite. Vic Lee wrote his name into the history books as the inaugural race winner before then doubling up his win tally later in the day.

For the full classification of results from all sessions at Silverstone, click here.