The British Automobile Racing Club’s annual Awards Evening took centre stage on Saturday 3rd February with deserving champions, volunteers, officials and organisers coming together to celebrate what was a momentous 2023 season. 

Officially drawing a line under last year’s campaign, the glittering evening – which took place at the Crowne Plaza in Stratford-upon-Avon – saw more than 230 guests swap race suits and overalls for dinner jackets and ball gowns.

Hosted by the superlative Alan Hyde, guests not only had the opportunity to look back on the year that was but they also heard from BARC Chairman Tony Scott Andrews, BARC Chief Executive Ben Taylor and Motorsport UK Chief Executive Hugh Chambers. 

Those in attendance also had the opportunity to hear from leading Formula 1 journalist and land-speed record competitor David Tremayne, who was a special guest of Tony Scott Andrews for the evening. 

Alongside the customary championship awards – which were handed out to the likes of Daryl DeLeon, Paul Rivett, Stephen Primett, Joe Warhurst and many more – a number of secret accolades were also presented to some unsuspecting winners on the night as well. 

Adam Weeden scooped The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy for conducting the most volunteering days in 2023 whilst Steve Bemrose was announced as the BARC Marshal of the Year, which is named in memory of Dennis Harris.

Two-time MINI CHALLENGE JCW champion Dan Zelos claimed the biggest prize of the night, The President’s Cup, while Louis Sharp’s stellar title-winning ROKiT British F4 season was rewarded with The Peter Collins Trophy – which recognises junior drivers. 

Sonia Gibbons was a worthy recipient of The Densley Trophy for her efforts working with the Classic Touring Car Racing Club, with Junior Saloon Car Championship Coordinator Dave Beecroft being bestowed The Gerry Marshall Trophy. 

Special presentations were also made to Kumho BMW Championship stalwart Trevor Ford and Legends Cars Championship Coordinator Phil Cooper, both of whom are moving onto new pastures this coming season. 

“It was once again another fantastic evening,” lauded BARC CEO Taylor. “Although this event is to honour our champions, it’s also for our members and the people that play their part in making the BARC what it is.

“What I really like about this event is that we have taken it from being an awards ceremony to being a sort of a celebration of the BARC as a whole. I wanted to make it feel more than just presenting trophies because those that are involved deserve to be recognised for their efforts behind the scenes just as much.

“Sitting at the start of 2024 you try to take stock of last year and it does feel like a long time ago. It was another successful year for the Group though with competitor numbers being up on our grids, spectator numbers being up at our circuits and the circuits as a whole having strong years. 

“Heading into this season we hope that that all continues in the same vein however you never quite know how things will pan out. I’m sure it will be another fantastic year for everyone.”

Elsewhere, more than £1350 was raised during the annual raffle for the BARC Marshal and Rescue Fund – which included prizes such as a Draper Tools Set, tickets to the British Touring Car Championship and Demon Weeks voucher.

BARC Award Winners:

The Sir Clive Bossom Trophy – Adam Weeden

The Peter Harris Trophy – Zena Wooller 

BARC Marshal of the Year – Steve Bemrose

The Densley Trophy – Sonia Gibbons

The Gerry Marshall Trophy – Dave Beecroft

The Peter Collins Trophy – Louis Sharp

The President’s Cup – Dan Zelos

2023 Connaught Competition Engines BARC Speed Champion – Matt Bramall 

2023 2CV Champion – Kris Tovey

2023 CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Champion – Ian Bamber

2023 Kumho BMW Champion – Kevin Denwood

2023 OT Publishing Coupe Cup with Toyo Tires Winner – Luca Staccini Anzanello

2023 Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Champion – William Sharpe

2023 Junior Saloon Car Champion – Daire Flock

2023 ROWE Britcar Trophy Champion – Rhys Lloyd & Jack Meakin

2023 Pickup Truck Racing Champion – Reece Jones

2023 Morphmy Caterham Graduates Champion: Sigma 135 – Ben Wheatley

2023 Morphmy Caterham Graduates Champion: Sigma 150 – Harry Senior

2023 Morphmy Caterham Graduates Champion: Sigmax – Daniel Livingstone

2023 Mission Motorsport Caterham 270R Champion – Freddie Chiddicks

2023 Motul Caterham 310R Champion – Jack Sales

2023 Adrian Flux Caterham Academy Champion: Green Group – Nick Highton

2023 Adrian Flux Caterham Academy Champion: White Group – Daniel Neale

2023 Vertex Caterham Roadsport Champion – Ben Timmons

2023 Avon Tyres Caterham Seven UK Champion – Lewis Thompson 

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Jaguar Challenge Champion – Guy Connew

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Pre-66 Touring Cars Champion – Billy Kenneally

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Pre-83 Touring Cars Champion- Stephen Primett

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Pre-93 Touring Cars Champion – Stuart Waite

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Pre-03 Touring Cars Champion – Gary Prebble

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Blue Oval Saloon Series Champion – James Dunkley

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Classic Thunder Champion – Nick Vaughan

2023 Classic Touring Car Racing Club: Laser Tools Super Tourers Champion – Jason Hughes

2023 Legends Cars Championship with AllGrowth Ltd Champion – Will Gibson

2023 Legends Cars Elite Cup with JLM Lubricants Champion – Connor Mills

2023 MINI CHALLENGE Clubsport with Airtec Motorsport Winner – Stephen Berry

2023 Vertu Motors MINI CHALLENGE Trophy Champion – Tom Ovenden

2023 Vertu Motors MINI CHALLENGE JCW Champion – Dan Zelos

2023 Porsche Sprint Challenge Great Britain Champion – Joe Warhurst

2023 Porsche Carrera Cup Great Britain Champion – Adam Smalley

2023 British Hillclimb Champion – Wallace Menzies

2023 British Truck Racing Champion: Division 1 – Ryan Smith

2023 British Truck Racing Champion: Division 2 – Paul Rivett

2023 British Endurance Champions – Bradley Thurston & Daryl Deleon

2023 ROKiT F4 British Champion – Louis Sharp

2023 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Champion – Ash Sutton