The British Automobile Racing Club Awards Evening took centre stage at the Old Thorns Hotel in Hampshire on Saturday 4th February to celebrate the achievements of champions, officials and volunteers from what was a sensational 2022 season. 

On what proved to be a night to remember, listen to some of the best interviews from key BARC personnel and winners here: 

Ben Taylor – BARC Chief Executive: The Club’s Chief Executive sits down to chat about what turned out to be a successful 2022, honouring the champions of last year and looking ahead to what 2023 has in store for the BARC.

Mark Turner – BARC Sporting Manager: The Club’s Sporting Manager looks back on the 2022 campaign, the annual BARC Awards Evening and how 2023 is shaping up for the ever-busy Competitions Department.

Paul Graham-Fielding – BARC Group Head of Marketing & Communications: Just a few weeks into his new role, we catch up with the Club’s new Group Head of Marketing & Communications – Paul Graham-Fielding – to discuss what he hopes to bring to the BARC this year and beyond.

Alan Gow – BTCC Chief Executive: The Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship’s Chief Executive discusses a momentous 2022 campaign – which included the introduction of hybrid power and the crowning of a new champion – as well as what’s to come in 2023.

Hugh Chambers – Motorsport UK Chief Executive: The Chief Executive for the governing body for four-wheel motorsport in the UK joined us to discuss a number of different topics such as Environmental Sustainability, Equality and much more.

Tom Ingram – BTCC Champion: After previously coming close on a number of occasions, Tingram made his dreams a reality last year as he clinched a hugely popular maiden BTCC title. For 2023, he’s back to defend his title with EXCLER8 Motorsport in his Hyundai i30N Fastback.

Phil Davies – Pembrey Circuit Manager: Ahead of what promises to be another busy year at the venue, Pembrey’s Circuit Manager joined us to discuss everything from future events to the latest developments down in South Wales.

Jon Winter – Winner of The Gerry Marshall Trophy: Awarded to the person that the BARC believes to epitomise Gerry Marshalls philosophy of motorsport, Jon was a standout winner having been the driving force behind the hugely successful Carbon8 Hyundai Coupe Cup with Toyo Tires series.

Maximus Hall – Winner of The Peter Collins Trophy: Awarded to the most promising newcomer competing in a BARC championship or event, Maximus was a worthy winner of The Peter Collins Trophy as he scooped the Junior Saloon Car Championship title in his rookie season.

Claire Hedley – Winner of The Densley Trophy: Awarded to the female in the Club that has enjoyed a successful year, Claire had plenty to celebrate in 2022 as she led both the Britcar Trophy Championship and all-new British Endurance Championship to new heights.

Stuart Caie – Classic Touring Car Racing Club: BARC Council Member Stuart sat down to preview what promises to be another bumper season for the Classic Touring Car Racing Club; which has seen 200 entries already confirmed and a new Super Touring event at Brands Hatch set to debut in July. 

Stuart Oliver – British Truck Racing Championship Competitor & Promoter: With ten titles to his name already, Stuart is no stranger to an Awards Evening and despite missing out on the 2022 crown, he was happy to look back on what proved to be a memorable year. As one of the promoters of the BTRC, he also provided a preview for what is in-store for 2023.

Luke Garrett – British Truck Racing Championship Division 2 Champion: Returning to British shores in 2022, Luke produced a masterful season to clinch a third Division 2 crown – doing so at what was a rain-lashed final event at Brands Hatch in November.

Miles Rudman – Legends Cars National Championship Champion: In what was one of the closest finishes in Legends Cars’ history, Miles successfully retained his title and in doing so, became just the third person to capture three championship crowns.

Wayne Marrs & Tom Jackson – British Endurance Championship Champions: Last year’s title winners recap what proved to be a groundbreaking year for the British Endurance Championship – where they ultimately reigned supreme in their Rob Boston Racing Mercedes GT3.

Dave Beecroft & Vickie MacClinton – Junior Saloon Car Championship: Dave and Vickie sat down to discuss what was a successful year for the JSCC and how 2023 is shaping up; especially as they get ready to also run the Track Attack Race Club.