Blockbuster BARC action takes centre stage at Pembrey Autumn Truckfest

The British Automobile Racing Club served up a five-star performance at Pembrey Circuit this past weekend (October 5/6) for what proved to be a blockbuster two days of racing, headlined by the MV Commercial BTRA Championship.

On what was one the Welsh venue’s final events of the 2019 season, a bumper crowd descended on the picturesque circuit to witness a feast of on-track entertainment in contrasting conditions.

Having taken centre stage back in May, the penultimate event of the MV Commercial BTRA Championship had everyone on the edge-of-their-seats as the battle for supremacy in both Division 1 and Division 2 continued.

Ryan Smith took a step closer to a fourth successive Division 1 title as he powered his MAN TGA to a hat-trick of race wins, strengthening his position at the summit of the standings. John Newell would claim outright honours in the remaining encounter, tallying his first win of the year.

Division 2 would see the spoils shared between four drivers however nobody could stop Luke Garrett from securing an unassailable lead in the championship to become a back-to-back champion.

Along with Paul Rivett, John Bowler and Brad Smith, Garrett stood on the top step of the podium over the course of the weekend to be crowned 2019 champion with one round still to spare.

From the heavyweight behemoths of the BTRA to the pocket rockets of the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres, the non-stop adrenaline-fuelled racing didn’t stop as the weekend wore on.

Miles Rudman put himself within touching distance of a maiden title as he clinched a pair of race wins whilst Sy Harraway also starred, taking a double of his own around the challenging 1.49-mile layout.

Both Will Gibson and Jack Parker chalked up victories too on what proved to be a pivotal weekend for the 5/8 scale machines.

The curtain fell in emphatic style on the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship season, with two high-octane races. Williams Sharpe reigned supreme in the opening encounter at the wheel of his MG ZR before Mark Baker prevailed in race two.

Mark Harrison was the driver to beat in the weekend’s two Monoposto Teideman Trophy, with Chris Everill doing the same in the Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Championship.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions, click here.