Blockbuster BTRA headlines Thruxton weekend

The British Automobile Racing Club delivered two blockbuster days of thrilling track action at Thruxton this past weekend (October 31/November 1).

Taking centre stage around the fastest circuit in the UK were the heavyweight behemoths of the BTRA British Truck Racing Championship – and they certainly made their mark on the Hampshire venue over the course of both days.

Going wheel-to-wheel in challenging conditions, Division 1 saw reigning four-time champion put himself in the box seat to clinch a fifth consecutive title by storming to a sensational hat-trick of race wins. Martin Gibson would prove to be the only driver that could beat Smith, winning the remaining race.

In Division 2, Steven Powell demonstrated similar levels of dominance as he too moved himself to within touching distance of championship silverware as he scored an impressive trio of race wins too. Two-time champion Luke Garrett picked up the other victory behind the wheel of his MAN.

Despite the curtain having fallen on their season at Silverstone last month, the Classic Touring Car Racing Club jumped at the chance to run two non-championship races and they took those in attendance on a spirited trip down memory lane.

Showcasing tin top cars from years gone by, the CTCRC boasted a bumper entry list of desirable machines and it was to BMW E36 M3 of Bryan Bransom that reigned supreme in race one, winning by nearly 30 seconds.

The Ford Lotus Cortina of Bob Bullen then came to the form in the categories second race, taking an emphatic victory.

Back for the second successive weekend at Thruxton, the BARC’s Open Sports/Saloons races initiative proved to be a smash-hit once again as a variety of machines duked it out for overall honours.

Clive Wood would emerge as the benchmark driver in both contests, winning in his Mallock.

Single-seater thrills rounded off the weekend’s track action and they came in the shape of the Monoposto Reprise I.T. Tiedmen Trophy. Bryn Tootell powered his Van Diemen to victory in the opening encounter before Edward Falkingham did the same at the wheel of his Jedi in race two.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Thruxton, click here.