British Rallycross Championship revved up for Silverstone curtain-raiser

The Toyo Tires Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship will roar into life this Sunday (March 24) with Silverstone playing host to what is expected to be an edge of the seats 2019 season-opener.

Providing thrills and spills at almost every turn last year, the championship is aiming to scale new heights as it embarks on another pulsating campaign which will see four venues visited over the course of the year.

Albatec Racing’s Mark Higgins clinched the 2018 title however the reigning champion won’t be on the grid for the opening round. Instead, many eyes will be focused on former champions Ollie O’Donovan and Julian Godfrey, both of whom narrowly missed out on beating Higgins last year.

Bidding to become a six-time champion, Godfrey returns behind the wheel of the Mitsubishi Mirage he campaigned last year, whilst O’Donovan will pilot his striking yellow Ford Fiesta.

Former British champions Pat Doran and Steve Mundy will also line up on the grid at the Northamptonshire venue. Elsewhere many will be keen to see how Irish champion Derek Tohill gets on in his Fiesta.

Rounding out the grid for the opening round of the season in the Supercar category will be Liam and Mike Manning, Steve Hill and World Rallycross competitor Oliver Bennett.

Whilst the Supercar class is set to be the main event, the British Rallycross Championship once again has a feast of supporting categories too, including the Motorsport UK Supernational Championship and Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship.

Notable names to look out for across both championships include Paul Coney, Tristan Ovenden, Paige Bellerby, and the Constantine brothers, James and Luke.

Elsewhere the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship, BMW Mini Rallycross Championship, Retro Rallycross Championship and RX150 Championship will all be in action too.

To ensure you don’t miss a second of the action this weekend, head to the official event page here.