BTCC confirms capacity 29-car grid for 2021 season

TOCA, Series Organisers of the Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship, has announced that a maximum 29-car entry list has been confirmed for the 2021 season.

Following the entry approval deadline, the maximum number of TOCA BTCC Licences (TBLs) have been submitted by competing teams. Each team must hold a TBL for each car entered, with 29 being held between teams and a further three by TOCA.

As has been the case in recent years, TOCA has chosen not to allocate any of its TBLs to either existing teams or new entrants in keeping with its previously stated policy of wishing to gradually reduce the size of the BTCC grid.

Notable allocations amongst the grid include a second entry for Speedworks Motorsport, a third car for Laser Tools Racing and the return to three cars for West Surrey Racing.

Alan Gow, BTCC Chief Executive, said: “Although we are all going through this most incredibly gruelling period, it’s enormous testament to the strength and popularity of the BTCC that we have a full entry.

“Even more remarkable is the fact that a third of the grid will be new-build cars that have been constructed in the off-season. All of which means that we have yet another fabulous, and even more unpredictable, season in store.”


Aiden Moffat Racing – 1

BMR Racing – 1

Boardley Motorsport – 2

BTC Racing – 3

Ciceley Motorsport – 2

Excelr8 Motorsport – 2

Motorbase Performance – 4

Power Maxed Racing – 2

Speedworks Motorsport – 2

Team Dynamics – 2

Team HARD – 3

Trade Price Cars Racing – 2

West Surrey Racing – 3

Teams will announce full details regarding their respective entries (drivers, team names and sponsors) over the coming weeks and months, prior to the release of the finalised entry list for the forthcoming season in March.

The 2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship season is scheduled to begin at Brands Hatch on April 3/4.