The Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship has officially launched its 2024 season with confirmation that a stellar entry list will go wheel-to-wheel for the biggest prize in UK motorsport. 

Boasting a grid that is packed with former champions, proven contenders and young challengers, the battle for supremacy across the 30-race campaign looks to be as competitive as ever this year. 

Headlining the entry is reigning champion Ash Sutton, who remains with NAPA Racing UK and the Ford Focus ST for a third successive season. Coming off the back of clinching a record-equalling fourth crown last year, the 30-year-old could make history this year by becoming the first-ever driver to win the coveted crown five times. 

Sutton – who will have the number one adorning his front-wheel-drive machine – is once again joined at the Alliance Racing-run squad by Dan Cammish, Dan Rowbottom and Sam Osborne. 

EXCELR8 Motorsport have named an unchanged driver line-up with former champion Tom Ingram spearheading the Hyundai charge as he aims to reclaim the title he lost to Sutton last year. He’s joined once again by Tom Chilton, Ronan Pearson and Nick Halstead. 

Jake Hill and Colin Turkington – who like Sutton is also gunning for a fifth crown – will lead West Surrey Racing with their revised BMW 330e M Sport. Joining the two likely title protagonists is Adam Morgan, with a fourth driver potentially still to come.

Speedworks Motorsport have expanded its operation to four cars and in-doing so, it has enticed former FIA World Touring Car Championship title winner Rob Huff to return for his first full campaign in the BTCC in two decades. 

Piloting a Toyota Corolla GR Sport, Huff will partner Andrew Watson on the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK side of the garage while Josh Cook and Aiden Moffat will run under the LKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ for the factory-run outfit. 

In the fight for Independent Championship honours, Evans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing will enter the year as favourites as they stick with their trusty Vauxhall Astra and the capable duo of Aron Taylor-Smith and Mikey Doble.

The front-wheel-drive pairing are set to face stiff opposition though from Restart Racing, who are new to the championship this year. Having acquired a pair of Cupra Leons, the fledgling team will run former race winner Chris Smiley and rookie ace Scott Sumpton. 

Completing the entry list is Unlimited Motorsport, who will field a Cupra Leon for Daryl Deleon.

The start of the new season will bring with it a host of revisions to the regulations including the new ‘Quick Six’ qualifying format and an increase in hybrid power that will be available for drivers. In addition, the series will also break new ground as it broadcasts every race live on TikTok. 

CLICK HERE for the full 2024 British Touring Car Championship entry list. 

The 2024 campaign officially commences at Donington Park on the 27-28 April.