C1 Challenge stars with 24-hour spectacle at Rockingham

The Trade Team Citroen C1 Challenge signed off from Rockingham Motor Speedway in fine style this past weekend (August 31 – September 2) as it headlined a blockbuster three days with an enthralling 24-hour race.

Following on from its history-making inaugural 24-hour event at the Corby venue in May, the one-make series returned to produce another spectacle that will live long in the memory.

Boasting a bumper entry list of more than 30 cars and 100 drivers, the battle for supremacy in the day-long C1 Challenge race proved to jam-packed with drama, with several teams making their way to the lead of the race, be in under sunshine or darkness.

Come the end of the race, Citron D’Equipe emerged as the winners to take the chequered flag and stand on the top step of the podium. Clocking a total of 571 laps around the 2.44 mile layout, the team of Mike Combar, Simon Fleet and Nick Dougill got their heads down and hit the front in the closing stages to pip Team Rockingham by 1:26.328.

Team Rockingham’s driver line-up of Peter Hardman, Michael Galjaardt, Will Thomas, James Guess and Stuart Wright ended the race in second place whilst the Team Green Racing quartet of Paul Rowland, Charles Corner, Carl Hawkins and Alec Graham capped off the podium.

A staggering 19,008 laps were completed over the course of the 24 hours too, with just the top two finishing on the lead lap.

Earlier in the weekend the Trade Team Citroen C1 Challenge also staged a shorter three-hour endurance race, with no less than 37 cars taking the start. After 180 minutes, Dijon Racing clinched victory ahead of Old Hat Motorsport and Scuderia Pollo Rosso.

Elsewhere, the BARC South East Tin Tops Championship was in action at Rockingham with Daniel Fisher producing a dominant display to clinch a pair of race wins.

There was also edge-of-the-seat thrills from the BARC South East Modified Saloon Car Championship where Alex Sidwell bagged two wins of his own.

For the full classification of results from all sessions, click here.