Champions crowned in contrasting conditions at Silverstone

The British Automobile Racing Club brought the curtain down on a host of championships at Silverstone this past weekend (October 6/7) with titles being decided in contrasting conditions.

Tackling the International layout of the Northamptonshire venue, heavy rain battered the circuit on Saturday before dry conditions greeted teams and drivers on Sunday.

In the midst of the treacherous conditions was the Dunlop Endurance Championship which staged a pair of 50-minute races, the second being shortened down from two hours.

Race one saw the pairing of John Seale and Jamie Stanley pilot their JMH Automotive Ferrari 488 to victory before David Mason and Ross Wylie underlined their title credentials with an impressive performance in race two to triumph.

The latest exciting chapter in the Junior Saloon Car Championship was written at Silverstone as the one-make series continues its charge towards the title crescendo. With qualifying based on championship order, the weekend’s two encounters proved to be pulsating from start-to-finish.

Lewis Saunders narrowly pipped Joel Wren and Steven Chandler in race one before Ben Kasperczak made a welcome return to the top step of the podium to score victory in the second race of the day, his third of the season.

Titles had already been decided in the Michelin Clio Cup Series prior to the weekend but that didn’t stop Ben Palmer from putting the exclamation point on an otherwise year of dominance. The double champion continued his unbeaten run with victory in race one but was unable to make it a clean sweep with a non-finish in the final round of the year.

Ben Colburn ultimately picked up the honours as he scored his first win of the season on his way to securing second in the championship. In the Road class, Nic Harrison added a further two race wins to his tally to cap off a memorable season as champion.

Clive Wood and Steve Dickens were the standout performers in the BARC Clubmans Sports Prototypes Championship in association with King Henry’s Taverns; Wood bagging himself a double whilst Dickens kicked off the weekend topping the rostrum.

Wood would have more to celebrate as he wrapped up the title in the CSP1 class whilst Michelle Hayward and Pippa Tanner-Wood did the same in the CSP2 and CSP3 classes respectively.

The Kumho BMW Championship finished with a flourish as Garrie Whittaker showcased his superiority with a pair of overall race wins at the wheel of his BMW E36 M3.

Elsewhere in the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship, spoils were shared between Martin Willis and Stuart Plotnek as they took a win apiece in two hotly-contested races.

For the full classification of results from each session at Silverstone, click here.