Classic Formula Ford and Max5’s star at Mallory Park

Mallory Park played host to a memorable Sunday (August 5) of racing this past weekend as the Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford 1600 Championship and Max5 Racing Championship continued their 2018 campaigns.

Tackling the twists and turns of the popular Leicestershire-based venue, both championships were in fine form as they took a step closer to deciding their individual champions.

In the Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford 1600 Championship, two pulsating single-seater races saw spoils shared between two drivers. In race one, Ben Tinkler powered his Van Diemen RF80 to victory ahead of Benn Tilley.

Both Tinkler and Tilley proved to be a in a league of their own in the opening encounter as they diced for the win. In the end, little over half a second separated the pair at the chequered flag with Tinkler coming out on top. Rounding off the podium, albeit five seconds down the road, was Jordan Harrison in his Lola T504E.

Race two from the Classic Formula Ford contingent saw the roles reversed as Tilley this time walked away as the winner. Keeping fans on the edge-of-their-seats, the top three pulled out a substantial advantage early on and began to scrap amongst themselves soon after.

Tilley in the end came away as the victor whilst Tinkler and Mark Yates ensured he had to work for his latest win in the series.

The Max5 Racing Championship had a familiar feel to it as Paul Roddison scored another pair of wins to further strengthen his position as the man to beat in the one-make championship.

Topping the times in both practice and qualifying, Roddison led home two identical races as he beat Jeremy Shipley and Ian Loversidge to the top step of the rostrum in both.

Also on track at Mallory Park was the latest rounds of the Cartek Motorsport Ford Saloon Series where wins went the way of Paul Nevill and Simon Horrobin.

For the full classification of results from all sessions at Mallory Park, click here.