Convoy on the Plain delivers Thruxton thriller

Thousands of enthusiastic spectators flocked to Thruxton Circuit this past weekend (July 3/4) for what proved to be an action-packed Convoy on the Plain spectacle.

In what was the inaugural running of the trucking festival, fans flocked to the high-speed Hampshire venue to soak up both the on and off track entertainment – of which there was plenty.

Headlining the two-day schedule were five colossal contests from the British Truck Racing Championship. Weighing in at more than five tonnes and producing in excess of 1000bhp each, the heavyweight behemoths provided unmissable action around Thruxton’s sweeping curves.

Reigning Division 1 champion Ryan Smith strengthened his position at the summit of the standings as he was perfection personified, powering his Mercedes to four commanding victories. John Newell proved to be the only driver that could stop Smith as he claimed the remaining win.

Division 2 saw a trio of drivers stand on the top step of the podium with Craig Reid leading the line with an impressive hat-trick. Current title holder Steven Powell and former champion Adam Bint also charged to victory over the course of the weekend too.

From the titans of truck racing to the pocket rockets of the Mighty Minis Championship, where sensational slipstreaming had fans on the edge of their seats. Following an almighty scrap for outright honours, Greg Jenkins edged Stuart Coombs to score victory in race one before Steven Rideout came to the fore in race two to triumph.

Additional single-make thrills and spills were provided by the Carbon8 Hyundai Coupe Cup with Toyo Tires, where Alex Cursley claimed a commanding win to the tune of more than 13 seconds.

Cursley was the driver to beat in race on Sunday, however this time it was by the reduced margin of five seconds ahead of Wayne Rockett and Matt Mitter.

The Caterham Graduates Championship wrote the latest chapter in their 2021 campaign with four pulsating bouts. In the Sigmax/Sigma 150 bout, Jamie Ellwood charged to victory before Harry Senior did the same in the Sigmax/Sigma 135 race.

Jamie Winrow then proved too much for the opposition in the Sigma 150/Sigma 135 race before Ben Winrow powered his way to the front of the non-championship encounter on Sunday afternoon.

Elsewhere, William Sharpe and Fergus Campbell shared the spoils in the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship, each taking a superlative victory apiece. BARC Red was back on track too, with local ace Jamie Sturges piloting his Volkswagen Golf TCR to victory.

Rounding out the weekend’s track action were two races from the Welsh Sports/Saloon Car Championship, both of which were won by the Ginetta G55 of Chris Everill.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Thruxton, CLICK HERE.