Derek Tohill triumphs at Pembrey to take British Rallycross Championship fight down to the wire

The destiny of the 2019 Toyo Tires Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship will go down to the wire at Croft next month after Derek Tohill served up a near-perfect performance to score victory at Pembrey this past weekend (September 21/22).

Making its second visit to South Wales this year for the penultimate event of the season, the adrenaline-fuelled series was in full force as it produced a weekend to remember on-track. 

Adopting the two-day FIA World Rallycross Championship event format for the first time, a bumper crowd enjoyed a feast of entertainment as title protagonists Derek Tohill and Julian Godfrey went wheel-to-wheel for outright honours.

Proving to be the cream of the crop this year already, the Ford Fiesta duo couldn’t be separated across the four qualifying heats, both of them tallying two wins apiece to set up an intriguing grand final.

Hitting the front as the lights went out, Tohill wasted no time on stretching his advantage and powered his way towards  crucial victory. Behind, contact at the first corner scuppered Godfrey’s as he finished second despite picking up a puncture in the closing stages.

Roger Thomas gave the locals plenty to cheer about too as he rounded out the podium whilst both Steve Hill and Andy Grant found themselves in strife and out of the action.

Tohill’s triumph now means that just two points separate the top two heading to Croft at the end of next month.

As always, alongside the Toyo Tires Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship Supercar action was a host of blockbuster thrills and spills from a variety of supporting categories.

The Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship saw Luke Constantine and Ben Sayer triumph whilst Motorsport UK Supernational Rallycross Championship honours fell the way of the formidable Tristan Ovenden.

Drew Bellerby and David Bell shared the spoils in the BMW Mini Rallycross Championship, with Will Layton and Max Weatherley doing the same in the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship.

Rounding out the list of winners from Pembrey was Gary Simpson and Chrissy Palmer, who ran out victorious in the Retro Rallycross Championship and RX150 Championship respectively.

To view the full classification of results from Pembrey, click here.

The final round of the 2019 Toyo Tires Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship will take place at Croft Circuit on October 26/27. Tp buy tickets, visit