Duckhams Oils are set to celebrate their Formula Ford history this year after confirming that they will be the headline sponsors for the inaugural Heroes of FF1600 Sprint Cup.

The three-event campaign – which is for 1980s and 1990s Formula Ford machinery – begins at the Thruxton Historic in June with the coveted Ian Taylor Trophy race before going on to stage events at Oulton Park in July and Croft in September.

The series was founded by Co-ordinator Ian Temple, former HSCC Historic Formula Ford champion Richard Tarling, Heroes of FF1600 webmaster Wayne Pearson and long-time Formula Ford racer Steve Deeks.

Celebrating its 125th Anniversary this year, Duckhams has been a trusted partner within motorsport for a number of decades – with its legacy dating back to 1934. During its illustrious history, the original British motor oil brand has has supported winners in Formula 1, Formula 3, Formula 5000, Formula Atlantic, Formula Ford, British and World Rally, Superbikes, Porsche Carrera Cup GB, British GT and the BTCC.

In the 1974 season alone, a staggering 43 out of 55 Formula Ford races were won on Duckhams Q oil. Duckhams also enjoyed a long and successful partnership with the Van Diemen Formula Ford racing team, which culminated in the Duckhams team winning the Championship in 1993.

“When we started dreaming about revisiting the golden age of FF1600, we dreamed of tempting back the ‘names’: drivers, chassis, engine builders – and sponsors,” said Sprint Cup organisers.

“The iconic brands and colours that shout ‘Formula Ford’. We are excited to welcome aboard as a championship sponsor ‘Duckhams’ – finest quality lubricants, whose product packages will be awarded to ten of our fastest competitors.”

Rajat Moitra, Duckhams’ Global CMO, added: “Duckhams and motorsports have been synonymous with each other along the brand’s legacy of 125 years. We are excited to be supporting this event which celebrates the “golden era” of Formula Ford in the ’80s and ’90s.

“A great British engine oil brand, Duckhams has such an iconic motorsports heritage, packed with so many winners. Here’s to driving and winning together for the next 125 years!”