Goodwood Motor Circuit wound back the clock in style this past weekend (April 13/14) as the West Sussex venue kicked off its 2024 motor racing season with the 81st Members’ Meeting presented by Audrain Motorsport.

Bringing together some of the biggest names and iconic machines in the sport, the two-day event marked the start of another unmissable year of full-throttle thrills on the famous grounds. 

Open to members and fellows of the Goodwood Road Racing Club, the Members’ Meeting is staged to recapture the intimacy and camaraderie of the race weekend’s in Goodwood’s heyday – with the British Automobile Racing Club responsible for all sporting organisational duties.

Among the countless highlights was the Gordon Spice Trophy, which saw Group 1 Touring Cars race into the Saturday evening sunset. As expected, V8s were the dominant force and a tight top-five battle ended with four-time BTCC champion Ash Sutton and Craig Davies reigning supreme in a Ford Mustang Boss 302.

After missing out on outright victory in the coveted two-driver race the day previous, Fred Shepard was able to call himself a Members’ Meeting winner as he triumphed in the Gordon Spice Sprint.

The Ken Miles Cup lived up to its billing as a full grid of 30 Ford Mustangs roared into battle and that too saw another former touring car champion, Andrew Jordan, soak up the spoils of victory as he raced alongside Michael Whitaker. 

Monstrous GT machines took centre stage for the Graham Hill Trophy with the TVR Griffiths and AC Cobras proving difficult to live with. The appropriately named Miles Griffiths took victory in a TVR ahead of Alex Buncombe. 

Sleek sportscars provided a momentous sight in the Peter Collins Trophy as Richard Wilson piloted his Maserati 250S to a relatively comfortable victory – more than six seconds in fact – over Frederic Wakeman.

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the Bugatti Type 35 and in true Goodwood style a celebration was had as a glittering array of 1920s grand prix cars graced the tarmac. Julian Majzub was the star of the show as he beat Duncan Pittaway to top spot. 

One of the fastest races of the weekend was the Surtees Trophy, where sports prototypes of the early 1960s delivered a mesmerising showcase of all things speed. Both John Spiers and Alex Brundle starred towards the sharp end but it was Ben Mitchell that ultimately triumphed.

It wouldn’t be the Members’ Meeting without the Derek Bell Cup and this year’s edition was one to remember as a bumper grid of Formula 3 racers didn’t disappoint. Despite having to contend with a short stoppage, Michael O’Brien produced a daring overtake to beat Andrew Hibberd to the win.

Elsewhere, grand prix and voiturette cars featured in the Parnell Cup which was won by William Nuthall while Majzub and Mark Walker scored a wine apiece in the S.F. Edge Trophy. 

Rounding out the 81st Members’ Meeting track action was the Hailwood Trophy, where Phil Atkinson proved to be in a league of his own on two wheels as he claimed victory in both races aboard his Yamaha TZ350G.

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at the Goodwood 81st Members’ Meeting, CLICK HERE.