Julian Godfrey dominates BRX season-opener at Silverstone

The Toyo Tires Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship roared into life this past Sunday (March 24) at Silverstone with five-time champion Julian Godfrey setting his stall out as the man to beat, dominating proceedings to take victory.

Having narrowly missed out on capturing a sixth crown to Mark Higgins last year, Godfrey proved to be a tour-de-force behind the wheel of his Spencer Sport-run Mitsubishi Mirage.

With both Ollie O’Donovan and Oliver Bennett both early retirements during the meeting, the baton feel to Irish Rallycross champion Derek Tohill and former title winner Pat Doran to displace Godfrey at the summit of the times.

Taking a clean sweep across all three qualification races, Godfrey’s unstoppable charge continued in the final as he showed his rivals a clean set of heels, ultimately pipping Tohill by more than two seconds – Doran ultimately rounded out the podium.

Behind the top three; Steve Hill, Mike Manning and Steve Mundy capped off the list of finishers to bring a close on a pulsating opening event for the Supercar category.

In the Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship, Luke Constantine kicked his 2019 campaign off on the right foot with a clinical performance to take victory ahead of Patrick O’Donovan and Roberts Vitols.

The Motorsport UK Supernational Rallycross Championship had a familiar feel to it as former champion Tristan Ovenden underlined why he is still the man to beat with a flawless drive to take the chequered flag in the final. At the wheel of his Renault Clio V6, Ovenden reigned supreme as he led Jack Thorne and Peter McGarry around the Northamptonshire-based venue.

David Bell, another series veteran, savoured success at Silverstone too as he clinched honours in the BMW MINI Rallycross Championship whilst Dominic Flitney did the same in the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship.

Capping off the list of winners from the opening round of the season was Steve Harris and Brett Harris, who won the OBP Motorsport Retro Rallycross Championship and RX150 Championship respectively.

To view the full results from all classifications, click here.

The Toyo Tires Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship heads to Lydden Hill next for what is set to be a blockbuster bank holiday race day on April 22.