Mark Higgins returns to British Rallycross summit following Lydden Hill victory

Mark Higgins returned to the summit of the Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship standings on Bank Holiday Monday (August 27) after scoring victory at Lydden Hill.

Entering the seventh event of the season tied for second in the standings with Ollie O’Donovan, just a single point behind series leader Julian Godfrey, Higgins claimed his second win of the season after inheriting top spot following a time penalty for on the road victor O’Donovan.

As opposed to the last time the championship competed at Lydden Hill earlier in the year, dry conditions greeted teams and drivers with Albatec Racing’s Higgins setting the early pace as the led the way following the first block of qualifying races.

Five-time champion Godfrey came to the fore in the second block of races, piloting his Mitsubishi Mirage to a rapid time before Higgins underlined his speed by being fastest in the final round of qualifying encounters.

In the final, Higgins made his customary lightening start to lead into the first corner. Heading into the hairpin O’Donovan made his move, lunging down the inside of the Peugeot 208 driver and making contact with the side of Higgins’ machine.

Despite producing a spirited fightback, the triple British Rally champion charged back into second place but was unable to stop O’Donovan out front. After the chequered flag fell, O’Donovan was issued a two second time penalty for his part in the opening lap incident with Higgins, handing the latter victory.

Rounding out the podium behind Higgins and O’Donovan was the returning Oliver Bennett, who was back in the series making a one-off appearance.

Tristan Ovenden extended his advantage in the MSA Supernational Rallycross Championship as he delivered a dominant display at his home circuit.

The MSA Junior Rallycross Championship had a Constantine feel to it as the trio of namesakes locked out the podium. Tom Constantine produced another storming performance to take victory ahead of Luke and James.

Morgan Bailey and David Bell were the winners in the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship and BMW Mini Rallycross Championship respectively whilst British RX Supercar racer Steve Harris made his maiden competitive appearance in a restored Ford RS200 to win the Retro Rallycross Championship final.

Finally, the RX150 Championship served up an exciting days racing with Chrissy Palmer underlining his class with victory in the final. Palmer didn’t have things his own way however with guest driver Tom Onslow-Cole being constant thorn in his side throughout the day, ultimately finishing second.

The Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship heads back to Pembrey on September for the penultimate event of the 2018 season, with the title battle set to further intensify as it approaches an enthralling climax.