Ollie O’Donovan scores British Rallycross victory at Croft

Ollie O’Donovan made it three different winners from three events as the Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship entertained a bumper crowd at Croft Circuit this past Sunday (May 6).

In what is the first of two visits that the mixed surface series will make to the North Yorkshire venue this year, searing temperatures meant that it proved to be a scorching day both on and off the track.

Having qualified second on the grid for the Supercar final, 2007 champion O’Donovan found himself with an easier task of taking the lead after two restarts. Firstly Steve Hill retired from the first running with engine problems before pole sitter Andy Scott jumped the start of the restart, leaving the Irishman the sole occupant of the front row.

Leading from lights-to-flag, the Ford Focus driver withstood late pressure from round two winner Mark Higgins to clinch victory by 0.061 – the closest finish the championship has seen in recent memory.

Virtue of his second place finish, Albatec Racing’s Higgins has now vaulted himself to the summit of the points standings, whilst team-mate Scott made it a day to remember for the squad as he rounded out the rostrum by finishing third.

Fourth place in the final went the way of Croft local Mad Mark Watson in his Citroen Xsara whilst Hill was classified fifth overall, despite not completing the race distance.

Julian Godfrey found himself ins serious strife in the final too as he became embroiled in Hill’s exit from the final. Entering the weekend as the points leader, Godfrey glanced the side of Hill’s Mitsubishi, sending him into a series of rolls – the five-time champion walked away from the incident unharmed.

In the MSA Supernational Rallycross Championship, Renault Clio V6 racer Tristan Ovenden made the most of the conditions to dominate proceedings – setting the fastest time in each of the three qualifiers before then winning his semi-final and the overall final.

Tom Constantine made it back-to-back victories in the MSA Junior Rallycross Championship whilst Morgan Bailey did the same in the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship.

Elsewhere, David Bell was the winner of the BMW Mini Rallycross Championship encounter whilst RX150 Rallycross Championship points leader Chrissy Palmer further cemented his status as the man to beat with another victory.

Rounding off the action was the Retro Rallycross Championship, where Barry Stewart piloted his Porsche 911 to the chequered flag, narrowly pipping former title winner Ray Morgan.

For the full classification of results, click here.

The next round of the Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship will see the series descend on South Wales for rounds four and five at Pembrey, on June 23/24.