Oulton Park beckons for trio of BARC championships

The British Automobile Racing Club returns to Oulton Park this Saturday (June 22) for what should be a pulsating race day of acton, headlined by no less than three championships.

Organised and run by the Club’s North West Centre, the Cheshire venue is set to play host to the latest chapter of each categories campaigns and the traditional thrills and spills are expected to play out around the challenging 2.39 International layout.

Topping the bill will be the Dunlop Endurance Championship with two one-hour encounters. Showcasing the very best in supercar machinery, a glittering array of drivers will share driving duties as they duke it out for the latest pair of race wins that are up for grabs.

The Ferrari 488 Challenge duo of Paul Bailey and Andy Schultz lead the way as it stand but as Britcar has proved on countless occasions this year already, anything can happen and anyone can emerge victorious.

The CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship, the BARC NW Centre’s flagship series, will also be in action as it makes its second visit to Oulton Park this year. Boasting another bumper entry list, a 30-car grid will duke it out for the Dave Simpson Memorial Trophy.

In what will be the halfway mark in the season for the championship, the battle for supremacy is set to be an intriguing one with Jon Woolfitt, Andrew Southcott and Danny Bird, all race winners this year, headlining the entry.

There will be plenty of high-octane entertainment from the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship too as it takes fans on a spirited trip down memory lane as machines from a variety of eras go wheel-to-wheel.

Running under a multi-class format, the single manufacturer championship has wowed crowds at Silverstone, Brands Hatch and Donington Park so far, with Oulton Park set to be no different.

Two races are sure to set pulses racing with the likes of Jim Baynam, James Pryor, Sarah Sullivan, Stuart Plotnek, Simon Kendrick and Steve Darbey, amongst others, being in contention for outright and individual class honours.

To find out more information on the event, including links to live timing and the timetable, click here.