Pickup Truck Racing’s track return headlines Mallory Park race day

The highly anticipated return of the Pickup Truck Racing Championship headlines this Saturday’s (May 1) race day at Mallory Park as the series hits the track for the first time since November 2019.

Making the difficult decision to press pause on its plans for the 2020 campaign and not run any events due to ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the championship sat on the sidelines last year and instead focused on this season.

Keen to make up for the adrenaline-filled entertainment that was unable to take place last year, the championship boasts a bumper entry list that is headed by 2019 title winner George Turiccki. After being unable to defend his crown last year, Turiccki technically enters the season as the reigning champion and he will be focused on securing back-to-back crowns.

Leading the chase for Turiccki are perennial contenders Michael Smith, Dale Gent, Mark Willis, Reece Jones, David O’Regan, Daniel Petters and former BTCC race winner Matt Simpson, amongst many others including a number of rookies.

Another category that will lift the curtain on – brand new season is the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship. Home to some of the most iconic MG models to have gone into production, there is something for everyone when watching this championship take centre stage.

Offering a cost effective route into motorsport, the series operates a multi-class system with the ethos that car must remain as per the production specification with only limited performance modifications permitted to ensure competitive motorsport at affordable costs.

Notable names to look out for include Jim Baynam, Mark Baker, Fergus Campbell, David Amphlett and Stuart Plotnek; all of whom were firmly in the mix for outright and class honours over the course of 2020.

Additional track action will take place over the course of the day courtesy of the Avon Tyres Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship and Darlington & District Motor Club.

To find out more information on this Saturday’s race meeting at Mallory Park, including links to live timing, event timetable and final instructions, CLICK HERE.