Blockbuster Brands Hatch weekend brings BARC year to a close

Brands Hatch provided the backdrop for a thrilling final race meeting of the 2018 season for the British Automobile Racing Club this past weekend (November 17/18) as six championships brought the curtain down on their campaigns.

Despite there being a chill in the air, the BARC basked under the Kent sunshine throughout both days as those in attendance were treated to a feast on-track entertainment.

Racing into the darkness on both nights, the Dunlop Endurance Championship lit up the Indy circuit with a spellbinding array of machines. Honours fell the way of Alan Purbrick and David Brise in the first 50-minute encounter as they piloted their Saker RAPX to victory.

In the longer two-hour endurance race, Ferrari 458 duo Ross Wylie and David Mason were the winners of the Sprint category before the Team HARD duo of Simon Rudd and Tom Barley went on to score victory in the Endurance class.

With the final races being decided, Sarah Moore and Matt Greenwood were declared Endurance champions whilst Jon Watt and Kristian Prosser claimed the Sprint title.

James Hedley wrote his name into the history books as he lifted the coveted Ginetta Junior Winter Series crown. With familiar and new faces duking it out for the final championship on offer from the Yorkshire manufacturer, Hedley made his mark in style.

Ruben del Sarte scored victory in race one however nobody could stop Hedley on day two as he stormerd to a pair of wins from behind the wheel of his G40 to scoop the title and follow in the footsteps of Adam Smalley.

Wayne Rockett and Steve Kite signed off the Hyundai Coupe Cup season in dominant fashion as they powered their way to a race win, the latter adding cementing his status as the man to beat throughout the year.

Spoils were shared in the BARC South East Tin Tops Championship as Alfie Brooker and Kamran Tunio took a win apiece. Elsewhere Rod Birley was back to his brilliant best as he wrapped up victory in the two BARC South East Modified Saloon Car Championship races.

Capping off the weekend’s action was two races from the Scrapco Metal Recycling / Avon Tyres Intermarque Championship, with Chris Brockenhurst and Steve Burrows each topping the podium.

For the full classification of results, click here.