Thruxton Circuit is gearing up for a spectacular weekend of motorsport and entertainment with the Jochen Rindt Trophy (JRT) headlining the Thruxton Historic on June 22/23.

Fans can expect a dazzling display of historic and classic race cars and top-tier drivers, all set against the backdrop of the UK’s fastest race circuit. Here are some highlights and exciting entries for this year’s event:

The highly anticipated Jochen Rindt Trophy is set to be the highlight of the two-day Thruxton Historic. This thrilling event will showcase two celebration races for single-seat race cars up to 2 litres in capacity, evoking the spirit of Thruxton throughout the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s.

For the 2024 running of the Jochen Rindt Trophy, the world’s leading battery manufacturer, Yuasa are the title sponsor and will be providing trophies, welcome packs to JRT competitors and teams, and showcasing their products throughout the event.

Scotland’s Tim Jacobsen will race the Ex Bev Bond / Alan Jones March 74B, marking its return to Thruxton after half a century. This car, built in late 1973 and raced by Jones to three victories in 1974, will be a crowd favourite, especially now that it’s back in the original ’74 Jones/Stiller livery. Multi-Champ Rob Moores will be racing his Ex-Derek Daly Chevron B38.

This car, with a rich history including multiple championships, will be a star attraction. Moores’ presence adds significant prestige, given his success at European circuits over the last 15 years. Ex Hanny Wiano/Richard Hawkins Monaco March 743 with Hampshire racer Bruce Balchin at the wheel originally raced at Monaco. This car’s storied past and recent restoration make it a must-see at the Thruxton Historic.

Delta Motorsport’s Iain Rowley in the Ex ‘Howdy’ Holmes March 79B will also be in attendance. Known for his charismatic character and impressive driving, Rowley’s participation adds excitement to the lineup. 2022 Best Presented Car Winner Neil Jenkins returns, showcasing his beautifully prepared Chevron B38 Toyota Novamotor. This car, always a contender for best presentation, will compete in the Derek Warwick Trophy class for 2-litre F3s.

Kent’s Martin Wood brings his stunning March 73B, adding to the Formula Atlantic ranks. Wood’s rich racing history and the car’s Cosworth engine are sure to delight fans. Gary Ward with a background in FF1600, F3, and F3000, will race the Ex Didier Theys Ralt RT3. Known for his detailed race car preparation, Ward’s return is eagerly anticipated. Also watch out for Gary in his own original Lola FF1600 in the ‘Heroes’ race. Former Classic F3 Champion Andy Smith will race in his March 783 Toyota. Smith, a prominent figure in historic racing, adds significant competition to the Derek Warwick Class.

John Cottrill’s Ex Henri Pescarolo Brabham BT30, fitted with a period-correct Ford Cosworth FVA engine, will debut at Thruxton. This car’s rich history is sure to captivate spectators. Former F1, F5000 & World Sportscar racer Mike Wilds will drive a Formula Atlantic Lyncar FA005. Wilds, known for his extensive career and engaging personality, is expected to be a highlight of the event. Simon Langman’s beautifully restored Ex Rolf Stommelen Brabham BT30 returns. This car, a highlight from last year’s event and promises to be a visual treat for racing fans.

Raimund Fein from Germany brings back Ian Taylor’s March Holbay F3, a car deeply connected to Thruxton’s history. Historic F3 cars, including a Ralt RT1 and Chevron B38, will return to Thruxton. These cars, with their links to local racing legend Derek Warwick, are sure to bring back memories for long-time fans.

The Thruxton Historic will also feature an array of exciting races that celebrate the rich history of motorsport:

Ferrari Superformance: Watch road-legal and modified Ferraris up to the era of the 355 challenge, including models like the 308, 328, 348, 355, 456, 550, Mondial, and more.

Historic Formula Ford 2000: Single-seater cars built and raced before 1980 offer an affordable way to compete in a slicks and wings class.

FISCAR: The Fifties Sports Car Racing Club showcases sports cars from the 1950s, providing a competitive and friendly environment for drivers and enthusiasts.

Mighty MINIS: This highly competitive series features compact, modified Mini Coopers known for their speed, agility, and thrilling wheel-to-wheel action.

Swinging Sixties: A mix of sports, saloons, and GT cars race in a series that ensures close, clean competition with exciting 40-minute races and mandatory pit stops.

HSCC Guards Trophy: The HSCC’s Guards Trophy Championship makes a rare appearance at Thruxton this weekend, showcasing a splendid array of 1960s sports-racing and GT cars in a 50-minute mini-enduro race. In this enduring and highly successful series from the Historic Sports Car Club, pit stops are mandatory, but driver changes are optional. Saturday’s race will be one of the longest races at Thruxton this season. Sports racing cars and grand touring cars from the 1960s compete, with separate awards for each class.

HSCC – Historic F3 1L: When the current circuit opened in 1968, the one-litre Formula 3 category was thriving, earning the nickname ‘screamers’ due to the high-revving 1000cc engines. This weekend’s races mark a rare return to Thruxton for these iconic racing cars, and fittingly, a trophy from that era is being reintroduced. With the support of the British Automobile Racing Club, the Chris Moore Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the aggregate race winner.

Chris Moore was one of Britain’s promising young stars in the mid-1960s, racing competitively in one-litre Formula 3. Tragically, he passed away from a brain tumour at the age of 25. In his memory, his mother and brother presented the Chris Moore Memorial Trophy to the BARC, which was awarded to the winner of a Formula 3 race for many years.

Heroes of FF1600: New for 2024 is the Heroes of FF1600 Sprint Cup, a mini-series comprising of three events that celebrate Formula Ford cars from the category’s golden era up to 1993. This weekend’s competitors will fittingly be racing for the Ian Taylor Trophy, in honour of the leading Formula Ford racer who played a pivotal role at Thruxton for many years. Ian Taylor’s name is synonymous with both Formula Ford and Thruxton, and the aggregate winner from the two races will be awarded the trophy dedicated to his memory.