Title showdown primed to mark the end of an era for the Renault UK Clio Cup

An illustrious chapter of the Renault UK Clio Cup will draw to a close this weekend (October 12/13) as the one-make championship makes its final appearance on the TOCA support package – and a nail-biting title fight lies ahead around the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit.

Having raced alongside the British Touring Car Championship since 2000, the Kent venue will mark the end of an era for the legendary series which has served as a launchpad for countless careers across nearly two decades.

Bidding to write their names into the history books; Jack Young, Max Coates and Jamie Bond all head into the weekend with a chance of being crowned 2019 champion.

Since the season-opener back in April, the battle for supremacy at the top of the championship has captivated fans, with the pendulum continuing to swing back-and-forth at every round.

Arriving at Brands Hatch in the pound seat will be Northern Irishman Young, who at 17 will be aiming to become the youngest-ever Clio Cup champion. Holding a 15-point advantage over Coates, second and third place finishes will be enough for the MRM driver however as history has shown, anything can happen.

Team HARD’s Coates has at times been in a league of his own this year but misfortune at Silverstone has left him with nothing to lose and everything to gain heading into the weekend’s final two races.

After missing the opening round of the year, Bond has underlined his class with a scintillating fightback to bring himself into contention, Trailing Young by 46 points and with a maximum of 56 available, the local man will need things to fall his way if he is to complete one of the most remarkable title triumphs.

Beyond the top three, a whole host of drivers will be keen to sign off their 2019 campaigns in style and on a high. Silverstone race-winner Brett Lidsey will lead the fight towards the front, with regular podium contenders Ethan Hammerton and Ben Colburn likely to be also in the mix.

Jade Edwards, James Colburn, Aaron Thompson, Nathan Edwards, Anton Spires, Finlay Robinson, Luke Warr, Tyler Lidsey and Paul Taylor make up the rest of the grid for the weekend’s finale and none of them can be discounted from reigning supreme either.

With Jim Edwards Jnr, Paul Rivett, Jonny Adam, Tom Onslow-Cole, Phil Glew, Dave Newsham, Jack Goff, Mike Bushell and Ashley Sutton having all triumphed down the years, one more Renault UK Clio Cup champion will be crowned – the question is who?

To find out more information on this weekend’s Renault UK Clio Cup farewell, including links to live timing and timetable, click here.