BARC produces captivating Oulton Park race day

The British Automobile Racing Club took on a starring role at Oulton Park this past Saturday (July 6) as four championships produced high drama, wheel-to-wheel entertainment and plenty of enthralling talking points. 

Organised and run by the Club’s North West Centre, the one-day meeting – which took place around the 2.692-mile International layout of the Cheshire venue – was expected to be packed with action from start-to-finish; and it duly delivered in challenging conditions. 

Topping the bill was the latest two-hour instalment of the British Endurance Championship in association with Motorsport UK, which saw the PB Racing with JMH duo of Peter Erceg and Marcus Clutton maintain their 100% winning record.

Arriving at Oulton Park having claimed victory in the previous three events this season, the Audi GT3 duo cemented their status as the team to beat in the overall standings by firstly blasting their way to pole position in qualifying by more than five seconds.

Lining up on the front row of the grid, Erceg and Clutton wasted no time in underlining their front-running credentials by quickly establishing a lead at the front of the field. As the race progressed, their lead only grew and they ultimately went on to triumph by four laps. 

While Erceg and Clutton comfortably reigned supreme, the battle for the remaining two spots on the podium had everyone captivated. Xentek Motorsport would have enough in hand to clinch second while the Porsche 992 Cup duo of Nick Hull and Richard Avery claimed third place. 

Fireworks flew in the Britcar Trophy Championship as the Ginetta G56 GTA proved to be the car to beat, with Marco Anastasi and Seb Dubois enjoying a share of the spoils that were on offer across the day’s two 50-minute contests.

Stephen Fresle and Ben Green had paced the opposition to snare pole position in qualifying however they were unable to stop the Datum Motorsport duo of Anastasi and Maurizio Sciglio as they forced their way to the front and then set about duking it out for overall honours. 

Remarkably there was less than a tenth of second separating the top two in the day’s second bout as Dubois held off the charging Dragon Sport Opel Astra of Rhys Lloyd and Harri Reynolds to score victory. 

The North West Centre’s flagship category, the CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship, didn’t disappoint those that were in attendance either as a bumper entry list served up two very contrasting contests.

Race one proved to be one largely dominated by Stuart Pearson as he guided his AB Sabre to a commanding win of more than 11 seconds over Ben Roberts and Connor Modro, who filled the remaining spots on the podium.

Modro turned the tables on Roberts and Pearson in a shortened, red-flag affected race two a few hours later however as he blasted his Westfield Aero to victory lane by a little under two seconds. 

Concluding proceedings at the picturesque track were two races from the Heroes of FF1600 Sprint Cup Series, which proved to be one of the leading lights at the Thruxton Historic meeting last month. 

Richard Tarling maintained his race-winning form from Thruxton to tally a narrow victory in race one before Callum Grant, who had shadowed Tarling in the opener, then came to the fore to score victory in the finale. 

To view the full classification of results from all sessions at Oulton Park, CLICK HERE.

Duckhams Oils to sponsor Heroes of FF1600 Sprint Cup

Duckhams Oils are set to celebrate their Formula Ford history this year after confirming that they will be the headline sponsors for the inaugural Heroes of FF1600 Sprint Cup.

The three-event campaign – which is for 1980s and 1990s Formula Ford machinery – begins at the Thruxton Historic in June with the coveted Ian Taylor Trophy race before going on to stage events at Oulton Park in July and Croft in September.

The series was founded by Co-ordinator Ian Temple, former HSCC Historic Formula Ford champion Richard Tarling, Heroes of FF1600 webmaster Wayne Pearson and long-time Formula Ford racer Steve Deeks.

Celebrating its 125th Anniversary this year, Duckhams has been a trusted partner within motorsport for a number of decades – with its legacy dating back to 1934. During its illustrious history, the original British motor oil brand has has supported winners in Formula 1, Formula 3, Formula 5000, Formula Atlantic, Formula Ford, British and World Rally, Superbikes, Porsche Carrera Cup GB, British GT and the BTCC.

In the 1974 season alone, a staggering 43 out of 55 Formula Ford races were won on Duckhams Q oil. Duckhams also enjoyed a long and successful partnership with the Van Diemen Formula Ford racing team, which culminated in the Duckhams team winning the Championship in 1993.

“When we started dreaming about revisiting the golden age of FF1600, we dreamed of tempting back the ‘names’: drivers, chassis, engine builders – and sponsors,” said Sprint Cup organisers.

“The iconic brands and colours that shout ‘Formula Ford’. We are excited to welcome aboard as a championship sponsor ‘Duckhams’ – finest quality lubricants, whose product packages will be awarded to ten of our fastest competitors.”

Rajat Moitra, Duckhams’ Global CMO, added: “Duckhams and motorsports have been synonymous with each other along the brand’s legacy of 125 years. We are excited to be supporting this event which celebrates the “golden era” of Formula Ford in the ’80s and ’90s.

“A great British engine oil brand, Duckhams has such an iconic motorsports heritage, packed with so many winners. Here’s to driving and winning together for the next 125 years!”